Circular to licensed corporations
Data Standards for Order Life Cycles

31 Jul 2019



This circular sets out the Data Standards for Order Life Cycles which prescribe the minimum content and presentation format of trading-related data to be submitted by licensed securities brokers to the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) upon request. The Data Standards are enclosed with this circular as an appendix and a list of frequently-asked questions (FAQs) is available on the SFC website1.

Initially, only equities listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (SEHK) will be considered “In-Scope Products” for the purpose of complying with the Data Standards. In addition, only brokers whose trading turnover in SEHK-listed equities in a calendar year reaches or exceeds 2% of that year’s total market trading volume will be considered “In-Scope Brokers”.

Implementation timeline

In-Scope brokers will be expected to implement system changes and make other arrangements needed for compliance with the Data Standards within 15 months. Licensed securities brokers with trading turnover which reached or exceeded the 2% mark for the calendar year 2018 (ie, $26,422,762 million2) will be expected to comply with the Data Standards by the end of October 2020.

As soon as the total market trading volume is reported for each subsequent calendar year (ie, 2019 and beyond), licensed brokers which are not already In-Scope Brokers should check if their trading turnover in SEHK-listed equities has reached or exceeded the 2% mark. If so, they will have 15 months to develop and test their systems to prepare for compliance with the Data Standards. Accordingly, the due implementation date for brokers classified for the first time as In-Scope Brokers in view of their 2019 turnover would be in April 2021.

Regular data reporting will not be required at this stage, but In-Scope Brokers should be ready to submit trading data requested by the SFC, whether for supervisory or other purposes, in the format specified in the Data Standards. In-Scope Brokers can continue to store data in their own formats. The Data Standards only define the content and format of the information which In-Scope Brokers should be able to readily present to the SFC upon request.

The Data Standards will not be applied retroactively. In-Scope Brokers will only need to submit data in accordance with the Data Standards with regards to trading activity undertaken after the due implementation date which applies to them.

Securities brokers are also encouraged to take reference to the Data Standards to support their in-house monitoring and surveillance programmes.

Increasing use of data analytics

Receiving data on a timely basis is of paramount importance to the SFC in carrying out its functions and particularly in using data analytics tools or approaches to detect irregular activities, which in our experience are commonly associated with trading misconduct. Since 2015, we have used data analytics when conducting onsite inspections of some licensed securities brokers with high levels of trading activity. This allowed us to identify systemic trading-related control deficiencies and instances of non-compliance with the Code of Conduct3 which would otherwise go undetected. In some cases, this led to investigations and regulatory action.

Brokers often took a long time to provide the data we requested. Moreover, existing systems could not readily reconstruct order life cycles, from the initial receipt of an order instruction to final execution or cancellation. The underlying data was often scattered across multiple order management systems. Brokers had to extract and combine the relevant data, which then had to be scrubbed and validated.

In addition, each broker adopted different approaches to how events were defined and linked. The names used to designate datasets had different meanings across firms, and sometimes even within the same firm. Furthermore, the data we received had to be manually validated, which was very time-consuming.

Formulation of the Data Standards

There is a need to streamline the data validation and submission process. We engaged an external consultant and convened a working group of selected licensed brokers to develop an industry-wide data standard to better align our expectations of how data should be presented in a consistent and meaningful manner. We also consulted nearly all of the In-Scope Brokers4 as well as an industry association, and incorporated their comments as appropriate.

After lengthy deliberation, it was decided that the Data Standards should initially be guided by the following principles:

(a)   The scope should be limited to products which are commonly associated with trading misconduct.

(b)   Only brokers with significant trading volumes in the relevant products should be affected.

(c)    Order life cycles should be effectively linked to corresponding events, such as cancellation, modification, splitting into child orders and routing to an execution venue.

(d)    The Data Standards should be designed to provide maximum flexibility and minimal disruption.

(e)    They should be technically feasible.

(f)     They should be scalable and capable of covering other products and trading activities, and future phases should enable tests to identify other irregularities.

The Data Standards specify the material terms of an order that must be recorded. These include order price, quantity, side, type, capacity, client identification, algorithmic order instructions and aggregation information. The list can be extended and the terms can be modified to facilitate future expansion as needed.

A unique logical order identifier is assigned to each top-level parent order. This identifier is immutable and is recorded alongside all subsequent events to allow transparent linkage and full traceability.

The Data Standards are technical in nature and brokers’ data structures and systems can be very different. To leverage on some commonly-used definitions, we referred to the Financial Information Exchange Protocol (FIX), which is a well-recognised, global standard for electronic trading.

The SFC will continue to streamline the data validation and submission process and develop more automated scripts to execute compliance tests. Separately, we will keep in view the need and feasibility to expand the current data standard including to cover more product types, transaction types and regulated activities.

Further guidance

The FAQs provide further guidance as well as illustrative examples covering less common scenarios.

The SFC has set up a working group, including representatives from selected In-Scope Brokers and the industry association, to collectively address questions and feedback from the industry.

Should an In-Scope Broker foresee any difficulty in implementing the Data Standards by the due implementation date, it should inform the SFC as soon as practicable by writing to sfcdatastandards_isd@sfc.hk with an explanation and projected implementation timeframe.

Questions regarding the implementation of the Data Standards or the FAQs should be sent to sfcdatastandards_isd@sfc.hk. Suggestions and feedback may also be addressed to the working group at sfcdatastandards_wg@sfc.hk.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

Enclosure

End

SFO/IS/040/2019


1   https://www.sfc.hk/web/EN/faqs/intermediaries/supervision/data-standards-for-order-life-cycles/data-standards-for-order-life-cycles.html
2   See HKEX Market Statistics 2018.
3   The Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission (Code of Conduct)
4   16 licensed securities brokers had turnover which reached or exceeded the 2% threshold in 2018, 13 were consulted individually when the remaining three were members of the industry association which we consulted.  


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Appendix


Page last updated : 1 Aug 2019

致持牌法團的通函
適用於買賣盤生命周期的數據標準

2019年7月31日



本通函載列適用於買賣盤生命周期的數據標準,當中訂明持牌證券經紀行在應要求向證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)提交與交易相關的數據時的最基本內容及呈列格式。數據標準載於本通函的附錄,而一系列常見問題可於證監會網站取覽1

初步來說,就遵循數據標準的目的而言,只有在香港聯合交易所有限公司(聯交所)上市的股票才算是“該範圍內的產品”。此外,只有在某個曆年內其在聯交所上市股票方面的成交額達至或超過該年總市場成交額的2%的經紀行,才算是“該範圍內的經紀行”。

實施時間表

該範圍內的經紀行應更改系統及作出其他所需的安排,以便在15個月內遵循數據標準。若持牌證券經紀行在2018曆年的成交額達至或超過總成交額2%的界線(即264,227.62億元2),他們將須在2020年10月底前遵循數據標準。

任何持牌經紀行在其後每個曆年(即2019年及之後)的總市場成交額公布後,若尚未屬於該範圍內的經紀行,便應立即檢視其在聯交所上市股票方面的成交額是否已達至或超過2%的界線。如果已達至或超過該界線,他們將有15個月的時間建立及測試其系統,從而為遵循數據標準作好準備。因此,對於因應其在2019年的成交額而被首次獲分類為該範圍內的經紀行而言,上述標準的到期實施日期為2021年4月。

雖然現階段無須定期作出數據匯報,但該範圍內的經紀行應隨時準備按照數據標準所訂明的格式,提交證監會要求的交易數據(不論是作監察或其他用途)。該範圍內的經紀行可繼續按照本身的格式儲存數據。數據標準僅闡明該範圍內的經紀行應可隨時應要求提交予證監會的資料的內容及格式。

數據標準的應用將不會有追溯力。該範圍內的經紀行只需按照數據標準,就在適用於他們的到期實施日期之後所進行的交易活動,提交數據。

本會亦鼓勵證券經紀行參考數據標準,以支援其內部的監控及監督計劃。

使用數據分析的情況增加

在證監會履行職能,以及特別是利用數據分析工具或方法偵測不正常的活動的過程中,及時獲取數據至關重要;而根據我們的經驗,這些活動通常與交易失當行為有關。自2015年起,我們在對具有大量交易活動的一些持牌證券經紀行進行現場視察時,便已採用數據分析。此舉讓我們得以識別出本來可能無法偵測且與交易相關的系統性監控缺失及違反《操守準則》3的情況。在某些個案中,更導致我們進行調查及採取監管行動。

經紀行通常需要較長的時間,才能提供我們所要求的數據。此外,現有的系統未能輕易重新構建買賣盤生命周期(由最初接獲買賣盤指示至最後執行或取消交易)。相關的數據通常分散在多個買賣盤管理系統內。經紀行須擷取和結合相關數據,然後加以整理及核實。

此外,每家經紀行以不同的方式來界定及連繫各事件。數據集的命名在各公司之間,有時甚至在同一公司內,具有截然不同的含義。再者,我們所獲得的數據須以人手方式進行核實,非常費時。

訂立數據標準

我們有需要簡化核實和提交數據的程序。我們委聘了外部顧問,及設立了一個由選定持牌經紀行所組成的工作小組,以訂立一套適用於整個業界的數據標準,好讓他們更加符合我們以統一及有意義的方式呈列數據的要求。我們亦諮詢了絕大部分該範圍內的經紀行4及某業界組織的意見,並在適當情況下將他們的意見納入其中。

經過長時間的商議後,我們決定數據標準初期應符合以下原則:

(a)    有關範圍應局限於通常與交易失當行為有關的產品。

(b)    受影響的應只限於在相關產品有重大成交額的經紀行。

(c)     應有效地將相應事件(例如買賣盤的取消、更改、分拆為子買賣盤及傳送至執行地點)連結為買賣盤生命周期。

(d)     數據標準的設計應提供最大程度的靈活性,同時將干擾降至最低。

(e)     有關標準在技術上應是可行的。

(f)      有關標準應可擴大涵蓋範圍,及能夠將其他產品和交易活動涵蓋在內,而未來的階段應可進行測試以識別不合規的情況。

數據標準具體說明買賣盤內須記錄的重大條款,當中包括買賣盤的價格、數量、交易方向、類別、身分、客戶身分、算法買賣盤的指示及合併買賣盤資料。該清單可增加更多項目及有關條款可予以更改,以便日後在有需要的情況下擴大涵蓋的範圍。

每個最高等級的主買賣盤須獲分配一個獨有的買賣盤邏輯識別編碼。同一識別編碼須持續地記錄於所有其後相關事件中,以建立具透明度的關連及全面的可追溯性。

數據標準屬於技術性質,而各經紀行的數據結構及系統可能會有很大差異。為了採用一些常用定義,我們參考了金融信息交換協議(Financial Information Exchange Protocol)。此協議是獲廣泛認可且適用於電子交易的全球標準。

證監會將繼續簡化核實和提交數據的程序,並制訂更多自動化指令碼,以執行合規測試。此外,我們將繼續留意是否有需要將現有數據標準擴大至涵蓋更多產品類型、交易類型及受規管活動,以及有關做法是否可行。

額外指引

常見問題提供額外指引及說明例子,當中涵蓋一些不太常見的情境。

證監會已設立工作小組,當中的成員包括選定該範圍內的經紀行及所諮詢的業界組織的代表,以共同處理業界的問題及意見。

若該範圍內的經紀行預計難以在到期實施日期之前採用數據標準,便應在切實可行的情況下盡快以電郵方式(sfcdatastandards_isd@sfc.hk)向證監會作出書面通知,並附加解釋及預計實施時間表。

與實施數據標準或常見問題有關的問題應發送至sfcdatastandards_isd@sfc.hk,而建議及意見則可發送至工作小組的電子郵箱(sfcdatastandards_wg@sfc.hk)。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

連附件

SFO/IS/040/2019


1     https://www.sfc.hk/web/EN/faqs/intermediaries/supervision/data-standards-for-order-life-cycles/data-standards-for-order-life-cycles.html
2    見2018年市場統計數據
3
    《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》(簡稱《操守準則》)。
   16家持牌證券經紀行在2018年的成交額達至或超過2%的界線,而我們個別地諮詢了當中13家經紀行,餘下三家則屬於我們所諮詢的業界組織的成員。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
附錄 (只供英文版)


最後更新日期 : 2019年8月1日