Circular to Licensed Corporations
Launch of Key Risk Indicator Platform

30 Aug 2019



The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) has launched a Key Risk Indicator (KRI) platform to collect and analyse KRI data from certain licensed corporations (LCs). Leveraging advanced technologies and data analytic tools, the platform supplements the SFC’s monitoring tools by enhancing its information gathering and analytical capabilities to better identify and manage both existing and emerging risks. This facilitates the SFC’s supervision of global firms which are exposed to the changing dynamics of global markets and helps address issues identified by the SFC.

Initially, 22 global financial institutions which are considered as systemically important are in-scope[1] for the purposes of this platform. LCs from the in-scope global financial institutions are required to complete a KRI survey with data relating to their business operations (eg, financial information), conduct issues and prudential risk exposures on a monthly, quarterly and yearly basis. The survey covers all the regulated activities conducted by the participating LCs and their licensed representatives in Hong Kong, regardless of where the risk positions resulting from the associated regulated activities are ultimately booked.

The first submission of data should be made on or before 31 January 2020 for the reporting period ending 31 December 2019. The KRI survey should be submitted electronically through the SFC website using the “e-Submission Services” feature (wings.sfc.hk), where demonstration video and user guide have also been provided.

All the in-scope LCs of global financial institutions took part in pre-launch soft consultations and pilot tests of the KRI platform. The SFC will refine the platform from time to time and may consider expanding the scope of data collection and including additional LCs to enhance its regulatory oversight.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact your case officer.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/045/2019

 [1] In-scope LCs of global financial institutions include Bank of America Merrill Lynch, Bank of New York Mellon, Barclays, BNP Paribas, Citigroup, Credit Agricole, Credit Suisse, Deutsche Bank, Goldman Sachs, HSBC, JP Morgan Chase, Mitsubishi UFJ FG, Mizuho FG, Morgan Stanley, Nomura, Royal Bank of Canada, Societe Generale, Standard Chartered, State Street, Sumitomo Mitsui FG, UBS and Wells Fargo.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 30 Aug 2019

致持牌法團的通函
證監會推出關鍵風險指標平台

2019年8月30日



證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)已推出關鍵風險指標(Key Risk Indicator,簡稱KRI)平台,以便收集和分析某些持牌法團的KRI數據。該平台利用先進的科技和數據分析工具,提升本會的資料收集和分析能力,與證監會的其他監察工具互相補足,藉以更有效地識別和管理現有和新冒起的風險。此舉將促進證監會對受到不斷變化的環球市況所影響並存在本會所識別到的問題的國際企業進行監管。

在最初階段,共有22家具全球系統重要性金融機構被納入該平台的覆蓋範圍[1]。被涵蓋的全球金融機構轄下的持牌法團必須每月、每季度及每年回答KRI調查問卷內的指定問題,藉此提交與其業務運作(例如財務資料)、操守問題和審慎風險承擔有關的資料。參與調查問卷的持牌法團及其香港持牌代表進行的所有受規管活動都將會被調查問卷所涵蓋,不論相關受規管活動所產生的風險持倉最終被入帳至何處。

被涵蓋的全球金融機構轄下的持牌法團應於2020年1月31日或之前,就截至2019年12月31日止的匯報期首度提交所需的數據。KRI數據應在證監會網站的〈電子提交服務〉(wings.sfc.hk)一欄內以電子方式提交,有關網頁已提供了示範影片及用戶指南。

所有被涵蓋的全球金融機構均已參與KRI平台在推出前的非正式諮詢和試點測試。證監會將不時優化該平台,並且可能考慮擴大資料收集的範圍以及將更多的持牌法團納入覆蓋範圍,以加強其規管監察工作。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請聯絡你的個案主任。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/045/2019


[1]被涵蓋的持牌法團所屬的全球金融機構包括美銀美林、紐約梅隆銀行、巴克萊銀行、法國巴黎銀行、花旗集團、法國農業信貸銀行、瑞士信貸、德意志銀行、高盛、滙豐銀行、摩根大通、三菱日聯金融集團、瑞穗金融集團、摩根士丹利、野村、加拿大皇家銀行、法國興業銀行、渣打銀行、美國道富、三井住友金融集團、瑞銀及富國銀行。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2019年8月30日