Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities - Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Financing of Terrorism
Publication of Hong Kong's Mutual Evaluation Report by FATF

6 Sep 2019



Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities

Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Financing of Terrorism

Publication of Hong Kong's Mutual Evaluation Report by FATF

The Financial Action Task Force (“FATF”) published the Mutual Evaluation Report of Hong Kong1 (“Report”) on 4 September 2019.  Hong Kong's anti-money laundering and counter-financing of terrorism (“AML/CFT”) regime is assessed to be compliant and effective overall, making it the first jurisdiction in the Asia-Pacific region to have achieved an overall compliant result in the current round of FATF mutual evaluations.  

The Report can be found on the website of the FATF (http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/
mutualevaluations/documents/mer-hong-kong-2019.html
).

The Report confirms that Hong Kong has a strong legal foundation and effective system for combating money laundering and terrorist financing (“ML/TF”).  As far as the securities sector is concerned, it recognises that the Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) has a reasonable risk-based supervisory framework on AML/CFT and commends the dissuasive and effective sanctions used by the SFC to enforce AML/CFT requirements. The Report notes that, generally speaking, large financial institutions and those belonging to international financial groups have a good understanding of ML/TF risks and adequately apply customer due diligence (“CDD”) and record keeping requirements, whereas there is room for improvement among smaller financial institutions in some of these areas.

To further increase the effectiveness of Hong Kong’s AML/CFT regime, the Report recommends a number of areas for further work. We would like to highlight in particular the following focus areas:

The SFC will continue to employ a broad range of supervisory and enforcement measures to facilitate and ensure effective implementation of policies, procedures and controls for compliance with AML/CFT requirements by securities intermediaries. The SFC will also work together with the securities sector and various stakeholders to follow up the relevant recommendations in the Report, as well as the FATF’s updated risk-based approach guidance for the securities sector and continue to make a significant contribution to the effectiveness of the AML/CFT regime of Hong Kong.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kiki Wong at 2231 1569 who will assist to refer your queries to the relevant officer.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/046/2019

1 The Report was prepared by an assessment team comprising experts from member jurisdictions of the FATF and the Asia-Pacific Group on Money Laundering (“APG”), and was examined and adopted by the full membership of FATF and APG.  The FATF and the APG, which oversee global efforts to combat ML/TF, jointly conduct mutual evaluations to assess member jurisdictions' AML/CTF regime against the international standards and publish reports on the outcomes.
2 Specific reference is made in the Report to ML risks arising from foreign crimes such as corruption and tax evasion.
3 Paragraph 2.11 of the Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Financing of Terrorism (For Licensed Corporations) (“AML Guideline”)
4 Paragraph 2.13(a) of the AML Guideline
5 Paragraphs 5.8 and 7.8 of the AML Guideline


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 6 Sep 2019

致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 - 打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集
財務行動特別組織公布香港的相互評估報告

2019年9月6日



致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函

打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集

財務行動特別組織公布香港的相互評估報告

財務行動特別組織(“特別組織”)於2019年9月4日發表了香港的相互評估報告1(“報告”)。整體而言,香港的打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集制度獲評為符合規定和有效,令香港成為亞太區內首個在特別組織今輪的相互評估行動中取得整體上合規成績的成員地區。

報告可於特別組織網站(http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/mutualevaluations/documents
/mer-hong-kong-2019.html
)取覽(只有英文版)。

報告肯定香港擁有穩健而有效的法律框架和制度以打擊洗錢和恐怖分子資金籌集活動。就證券業而言,報告認為證券及期貨事務監察委員會(“證監會”)在打擊洗錢和恐怖分子資金籌集方面擁有合理及以風險為本的監管制度,並讚揚證監會用以執行打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集規定的制裁措施具阻嚇力和效益。報告指出,一般而言,大型金融機構及國際金融集團轄下的金融機構對洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集風險有充分了解,及適當地施行與客戶盡職審查及備存紀錄有關的規定,但小型金融機構在上述某些領域則仍有改善的空間。

為進一步提高香港的打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集制度的成效,報告建議了一些需要改進的範疇。我們想特別重點闡述以下關注範疇:

證監會將繼續採用廣泛的監管和執法措施,以促進和確保有效實施政策、程序和監控措施,確保證券中介機構遵守打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集規定。證監會亦將與證券業界和各持份者合作,跟進報告中的相關建議及特別組織有關證券業的風險為本方法的更新指引,並繼續為香港的打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集制度的有效性作出重大貢獻。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1569聯絡王凱琪女士以便將閣下的有關疑問轉介至相關負責人員。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/046/2019

1 報告是由一個評估小組編寫,評估小組由特別組織和亞洲/太平洋反清洗黑錢組織(“亞太反洗錢組織”)的成員司法管轄區的專家組成,而報告亦已獲特別組織及亞太反洗錢組織的全體成員審核及通過。特別組織及亞太反洗錢組織均是跨政府組織,它們按相關國際標準,對成員進行聯合相互評估,檢視其打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集制度,並在評估完成後發表報告。
2
報告中特別提及由貪污和逃稅等外國罪行所引起的洗錢風險。
3
《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引(適用於持牌法團)》(“《打擊洗錢指引》”)第2.11段
4
《打擊洗錢指引》第2.13(a)段
5
《打擊洗錢指引》第 5.8和7.8段


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2019年9月6日