Circular to licensed corporations
Dubious private fund and discretionary account arrangements or transactions

21 Nov 2019



This circular provides guidance to assist asset managers1 in (i) considering if a proposed private fund and discretionary account arrangement or transaction is dubious and (ii) deciding if they should proceed with a proposed arrangement or transaction that has been considered dubious.

In a Statement on the Disclosure of Actual Controllers or Beneficial Owners of Counterparties to a Transaction, also issued by the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) today, listed issuers are reminded that they should not employ private fund structures, discretionary accounts or similar arrangements with a view to avoid or to contravene laws, rules or regulations.

Background

The SFC has identified a number of dubious arrangements and transactions involving private funds or discretionary accounts in its supervision of asset managers2. In these cases, asset managers did not act in the manner which would normally be expected of a conventional investment manager in exercising its discretion to make investment decisions for the funds or discretionary accounts under their management. They largely followed investors’ instructions when structuring private funds or discretionary accounts and effecting transactions. Many of these arrangements and transactions involved other red flags and together should have led to a reasonable suspicion on the part of asset managers that these might not be legitimate or proper.

Asset managers should not disregard signs ofdubious private fund and discretionary account arrangements or transactions, which may facilitate the following types of misconduct by their clients or other entities:

(a)      avoiding or contravening any of the market misconduct provisions or disclosure obligations set out in Part XIII, Part XIV, Part XIVA or Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO) or other laws, rules and regulations, such as the Codes on Takeovers and Mergers and Share Buy-backs and the Listing Rules3;

(b)      conducting unlicensed regulated activities; or

(c)      involvement in fraud or other serious misconduct or illicit activities.

In disregarding dubious arrangements or transactions, an asset manager may have failed to act honestly, fairly or with due skill, care or diligence, in the best interests of its clients or the integrity of the market in accordance with General Principles 1 and 2 under the Code of Conduct4. Failure to report suspicious client transactions may also amount to a breach of paragraph 12.5(f) of the Code of Conduct.

In addition, an asset manager may also be in breach of paragraphs 3.2, 4.1.4, 4.9 or 7.23 of the AML Guideline5 by failing to:

(a)      conduct customer due diligence (CDD) measures to verify the identity of the client or beneficial owner;

(b)      obtain information about the purpose and intended nature of the business relationship it has established;

(c)      adopt a risk-based approach in determining the extent of CDD measures and ongoing monitoring so that preventive or mitigating measures are commensurate to the risks identified;

(d)      comply with special requirements in a situation which by its nature may present a high risk of money laundering or terrorist financing; or

(e)      report suspicious transactions to the JFIU6.

These failures or breaches will call into question whether the asset manager remains fit and proper to be licensed.

Expected standards of conduct

The senior management of a licensed firm bears the primary responsibility for ensuring the firm’s maintenance of appropriate standards of conduct and adherence to proper procedures7. As such, the senior management8 of an asset manager should ensure that there are effective procedures and controls for the asset manager to (i) consider if a proposed private fund and discretionary account arrangement or transaction is dubious and (ii) decide if the asset manager should proceed with the relevant arrangement or transaction. This process should cover the following:

(a)      Initial screening

(b)      Detailed due diligence

(c)      Senior management assessment and decision

(d)      Documentation 

Asset managers should observe substance over form throughout the entire process. For more details about the expected standard of conduct, please refer to Appendix 1.

(a)      Initial screening9

Once an initial screening determines that a proposed arrangement or transaction is dubious, asset managers should not proceed without prior written approval from senior management with the reasons clearly stated.

Asset managers should be familiar with the red flags included in Appendix 2 and be able to recognise them. However, as they are non-exhaustive and practices evolve over time to avoid regulatory scrutiny, asset managers should not adopt a box-ticking approach. Instead, they should:

(i)        perform an initial screening of each proposed arrangement or transaction which appears to deviate from generally accepted market practices, such as setting up master-feeder fund structures or special purpose vehicles for tax purposes, using derivative instruments for making an investment for a fund under the Qualified Domestic Institutional Investor program and having multiple funds or special purpose vehicles in private equity funds; and

(ii)       assess if there is any reason to suspect that the asset manager is not, or will not be, required or expected to make any investment decisions (apart from mere execution or operational decisions), and if there is, look more closely at the details and consider the proposed arrangement or transaction to be dubious unless these reasons can be addressed. See paragraph 2 in Appendix 1 for examples of the types of questions asset managers should ask when reviewing the details of proposed arrangements and transactions.

(b)      Detailed due diligence

All proposed arrangements or transactions which were considered dubious at the initial screening should be logged and subject to detailed evaluation. Asset managers should conduct enhanced due diligence on the investor, the set up and structure of the fund and discretionary account and transactions directed by the investor. The asset manager should then escalate the proposed arrangement or transaction and its due diligence report to senior management for review and a decision.

(c)      Senior management review and decision 

Senior management should exercise due skill, care and diligence in reviewing each proposed arrangement or transaction which was considered dubious at initial screening. Additional steps should be taken as needed. In particular, senior management should critically assess if it has any remaining doubts about the investor’s explanations, the investor’s sources of funding and whether the transaction is at arm’s length. Senior management should only decide to proceed if it is satisfied that the suspicions (for example, of misconduct) have been sufficiently addressed.

(d)      Documentation

The asset manager should maintain full documentation covering all aspects of every proposed private fund or discretionary account arrangement or transaction which was considered dubious in the initial screening.

If asset managers fail to detect dubious arrangements or transactions or they facilitate illegal or improper conduct due to inadequacies in their procedures and controls, the SFC would not hesitate to take regulatory action against them and their senior management.

Should you have any questions regarding the contents of this circular, please contact your case officers.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

Enclosure

End

SFO/IS/056/2019


1   This circular does not apply to licensed corporations which provide discretionary account services as an ancillary part of their brokerage services for clients without any formal investment mandates agreed with, or management fees charged to, clients.
2
   These arrangements and transactions were previously referred to in the following circulars:

3   The Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (Listing Rules)
4
   Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission (Code of Conduct)
5   Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Financing of Terrorism (For Licensed Corporations) (AML Guideline
6   Joint Financial Intelligence Unit (JFIU)
7   General principle 9 (Responsibility of senior management) of the Code of Conduct
8   Senior management should include, but not be limited to, the Manager-in-Charge (MIC) of Overall Management Oversight, MIC of Key Business Line (ie, asset management), MIC of Compliance and MIC of Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing
9   For the avoidance of doubt, initial screening should generally not be necessary where asset managers do not know the identity of the end investors of private funds under their management, for example, where they have appointed another party to distribute these private funds to end investors and the identity of these end investors is not disclosed to asset managers.


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Appendix 1
Appendix 2


Page last updated : 21 Nov 2019

致持牌法團的通函
可疑的私人基金及委託帳戶安排或交易

2019年11月21日



本通函旨在向資產管理公司1提供指引,以協助其(i)考量建議的私人基金和委託帳戶安排或交易是否可疑,及(ii)決定其應否繼續進行被視為可疑的建議安排或交易。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)亦於今天發出《有關披露交易對手方的實際控制人或實益擁有人的聲明》,藉此提醒上市發行人不應採用私人基金結構、委託帳戶或類似安排來規避或觸犯法律、規則或規例。

背景

證監會在監督資產管理公司的過程中,發現多項涉及私人基金或委託帳戶的可疑安排和交易2。在有關個案中,資產管理公司的行事方式與傳統的投資經理通常應採取的方式不一樣,它們不會行使其酌情權為所管理的基金或委託帳戶作出投資決定。它們在很大程度上是按照投資者的指示來建構私人基金或委託帳戶和進行交易。當中有許多安排及交易涉及其他多項預警跡象,而這些預警跡象若綜合起來,應已能令資產管理公司對這些安排或交易的合法性或適當性產生合理懷疑。

資產管理公司不應漠視可疑的私人基金及委託帳戶安排或交易的跡象,因為這些安排或交易可能會助長其客戶或其他實體進行以下類別的失當行為:

(a)      規避或觸犯《證券及期貨條例》第XIII部、第XIV部、第XIVA部或第XV部或其他法律、規則和規例(例如《公司收購、合併及股份回購守則》及《上市規則》3)所載明的任何有關市場失當行為的條文或披露責任;

(b)      無牌進行受規管活動;或

(c)      涉及欺詐或其他嚴重的失當行為或非法活動。

資產管理公司如漠視可疑的安排或交易,即表示它可能未有按照《操守準則》4第1及2項一般原則的規定,以誠實、公平或適當的技能、小心審慎和勤勉盡責的態度行事,以維護其客戶的最佳利益或確保市場廉潔穩健。沒有匯報可疑的客戶交易的行為亦可能違反《操守準則》第12.5(f)段。

此外,資產管理公司亦可能因沒有進行以下行為而違反了《打擊洗錢指引》5第3.2、4.1.4、4.9或7.23段:

(a)      實施客戶盡職審查措施,以核實客戶或實益擁有人的身分;

(b)      取得關於已建立的業務關係的目的及擬具有的性質的資料;

(c)      在決定盡職審查措施的程度和進行持續監察時採取以風險為本的方針,令防止或減低有關風險的措施與已識別的風險相稱;

(d)      遵守在以性質而論屬高洗錢或恐怖分子資金籌集風險的情況下的特別規定;或

(e)      向財富情報組6匯報可疑交易。

以上缺失或違規行為會令人質疑該資產管理公司是否繼續持牌的適當人選。

應達到的操守標準

持牌商號的高級管理層的首要責任是確保商號能夠維持適當的操守標準及遵守恰當的程序7。因此,資產管理公司的高級管理層8應確保已設立有效的程序和監控措施,以便該資產管理公司(i)考量建議的私人基金和委託帳戶安排或交易是否可疑,及(ii)決定該資產管理公司應否繼續進行有關的安排或交易。這個過程應涵蓋以下各項:

(a)      初步篩查

(b)      詳細的盡職審查

(c)      高級管理層評估及決定

(d)      文件紀錄

資產管理公司應在整個過程中遵循實質重於形式的原則。有關應達到的操守標準的更多詳情,請參閱附錄1。

(a)      初步篩查9

一旦初步篩查斷定某項建議安排或交易是可疑的,資產管理公司不應在未獲高級管理層事先書面批准並已清楚述明批准理由的情況下繼續進行有關的安排或交易。

資產管理公司應熟悉附錄2所載明的預警跡象並能夠認出它們。但是,由於所列舉的預警跡象並非詳盡無遺,而有關的手法會隨著時間而改變以規避監管方面的審查,因此資產管理公司不應採用機械式逐項核查的做法。相反,它們應該:

(i)        就每項看來偏離公認市場慣例的建議安排或交易(例如為稅務目的而設立聯接基金結構或特定目的公司,使用衍生工具來為合格境內機構投資者計劃下的基金作投資,及私人股本基金持有多隻基金或多家特定目的公司)進行初步篩查;及

(ii)       評估有沒有任何理由懷疑其現時或將來是否無須或不得作出任何投資決定(除純粹的執行或營運決定外);如有,除非可以解決有關理由,否則便應更仔細地研究有關詳情,並考量建議的安排或交易是否可疑。關於資產管理公司在檢視建議安排或交易的詳情時應提出的問題的類型,請參閱附錄1第2段中的示例。

(b)      詳細的盡職審查

在初步篩查時被視為可疑的所有建議安排或交易都應予記錄並進行詳細評估。資產管理公司應該對投資者、有關基金和委託帳戶的設定和結構,以及根據投資者指示進行的交易,展開更嚴格的盡職審查工作。然後,資產管理公司應將建議的安排或交易及其盡職審查報告上報給高級管理層檢視和作出決定。

(c)      高級管理層的檢視及決定

高級管理層在檢視於初步篩查階段被視為可疑的每項建議安排或交易時,應以適當的技能、小心審慎和勤勉盡責的態度行事,並按需要採取額外的步驟。尤其是,高級管理層應嚴格評估是否對投資者的解釋、投資者的資金來源及交易是否按公平原則達成存有疑問,應當僅在信納其懷疑的事項(例如失當行為)已獲充分解決的情況下,才決定繼續進行有關安排或交易。

(d)      文件紀錄

資產管理公司應就在初步篩查中被視為可疑的每項建議私人基金或委託帳戶安排或交易的所有範疇,備存完整的文件紀錄。

假如資產管理公司未能偵測到可疑的安排或交易,或由於它們的程序及監控措施不足而助長了非法或不當行為,證監會將會毫不猶疑地對它們及其高級管理層採取監管行動。

如對本通函的內容有任何疑問,請聯絡你的個案主任。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

連附件

SFO/IS/056/2019


1   本通函不適用於向客戶提供的委託帳戶服務是從屬於向該客戶提供的經紀服務的一部分,而又沒有與客戶訂立任何正式的投資授權或向客戶收取管理費的持牌法團。
2   有關安排和交易曾在以下通函內被提及:

3   《香港聯合交易所有限公司證券上市規則》(《上市規則》)
4   《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》(《操守準則》)
5   《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引(適用於持牌法團)》(《打擊洗錢指引》)
6   聯合財富情報組(Joint Financial Intelligence Unit)
7   《操守準則》第9項一般原則(高級管理層的責任)
8   高級管理層應包括(但不限於)負責整體管理監察的核心職能主管、負責主要業務(即資產管理)的核心職能主管、負責合規的核心職能主管和負責打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集的核心職能主管。
9   為免生疑問,如資產管理公司並不知悉其管理的私人基金的最終投資者的身分(例如資產管理公司委任了另一方向最終投資者分銷私人基金,而這些最終投資者的身分沒有向資產管理公司披露),一般來說應無需進行初步篩查。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
附錄1
附錄2


最後更新日期 : 2019年11月21日