Circular to intermediaries
Joint product survey by the SFC and the HKMA

6 Dec 2019



The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) and the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) will jointly launch an annual survey on the sale of non-exchange traded investment products by licensed corporations (LCs) and registered institutions (RIs) licensed or registered for Type 1 or 4 regulated activity.  The first joint annual survey will cover the period from 1 January to 31 December 2020.

The survey will enable the SFC and the HKMA to better understand market trends, identify risks associated with the selling activities of intermediaries and coordinate their responses to address areas of common concern.

Scope of the survey

The survey covers the sale of non-exchange traded investment products, such as collective investment schemes, debt securities, structured products, swaps and repos, to individual professional investors1, certain corporate professional investors (where intermediaries cannot rely on a waiver of the suitability obligation)2 and investors other than professional investors.

Transactions by institutional professional investors3 and corporate professional investors for which intermediaries have been exempted from the suitability obligation are outside the scope of this survey.

Intermediaries may refer to the guidance notes for the survey questionnaire for details.

Survey questionnaire

The questionnaire includes three parts:

The SFC and the HKMA may in future refine the content of the questionnaire used in the survey in response to changes in circumstances, product development, market trends, emerging risks and regulatory needs.

First reporting period and timeline            

Intermediaries are expected to submit completed questionnaires to the SFC electronically through WINGS4 in the first quarter of 2021 for the first reporting period, 1 January to 31 December 2020. A sample of the survey questionnaire in PDF format is now available in WINGS. We encourage intermediaries to plan ahead for the survey including arranging for any necessary resources and system enhancements. The survey questionnaire will be available in Excel format in WINGS around mid-2020.

The SFC and the HKMA will issue another circular in late 2020 providing further information about submitting the questionnaires.

The SFC will share the information submitted by RIs in the survey with the HKMA which is the frontline regulator of RIs. All information collected from the survey will be treated in strict confidence and will not be disclosed to any other third party, except as anonymised, aggregated statistics.

Following the launch of the survey, the biennial surveys5 by the SFC will no longer be carried out. The HKMA will also review its survey on the sale of investment products to retail banking customers and communicate with RIs separately where appropriate.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Michelle Mak at the Intermediaries Supervision Department of the SFC on 2231 1707 or your case officer.  For technical assistance with using WINGS, please contact the technical hotline at 2207 9333 or write to TechEnquiries@wings.sfc.hk.

 

Intermediaries Supervision Department                         Banking Conduct Department
Intermediaries Division                                               Hong Kong Monetary Authority
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/059/2019
HKMA/B1/15C


1      Individuals falling under section 5 of the Securities and Futures (Professional Investor) Rules (Cap 571D) (PI Rules).
2
    Trust corporations, corporations or partnerships falling under sections 4, 6 and 7 of the PI Rules, other than those for which the intermediaries have been exempted from the suitability obligation under paragraph 15.4 of the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the SFC.
3
    Persons falling under paragraphs (a) to (i) of the definition of “professional investor” in section 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 1 to the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap 571).
4
    WINGS, which stands for Web-based INteGrated Service, is an online portal for making electronic submissions to the SFC.
5
    The SFC conducted a fact-finding survey on the sale of non-exchange traded investment products to individual investors by corporations licensed by the SFC in 2018, 2016, 2014 and 2012. Reports of the surveys were published and are available on the SFC’s website.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 6 Dec 2019

致中介機構的通函
證監會與金管局關於產品銷售的聯合調查

2019年12月6日



證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)與香港金融管理局(金管局)將向進行第1或第4類受規管活動的持牌法團及註冊機構,就它們銷售非交易所買賣投資產品的情況展開聯合年度調查。這項聯合年度調查的首個匯報期為2020年1月1日至12月31日。

是項調查將有助證監會及金管局更清楚了解市場趨勢,識別中介機構從事銷售活動所涉及的風險,和協調兩家監管機構應對共同關注的範疇。

調查範圍

是項調查涵蓋向個人專業投資者1、部分法團專業投資者(即有關中介機構不獲寬免而須遵守為該等投資者提供合理適當建議的責任)2及非專業投資者,進行非交易所買賣投資產品(例如集體投資計劃、債務證券、結構性產品、掉期及回購交易)銷售的情況。

機構專業投資者3及其他法團專業投資者(即有關中介機構已獲寬免而無須遵守為該等投資者提供合理適當建議的責任)的交易則不屬是項調查的範圍。

有關是項調查的詳情,中介機構可參閱調查問卷內的填寫須知。

調查問卷

 此問卷包含三個部分:

證監會與金管局日後可能會因應情況轉變、產品發展、市場趨勢、新冒起的風險和監管需要,對是項調查所使用的問卷的內容作出調整。 

首個匯報期及時間表

就是項調查的首個匯報期(即2020年1月1日至12月31日)而言,中介機構應在2021年第一季透過WINGS4以電子方式向證監會提交已填妥的問卷。PDF格式的調查問卷範本現已登載於WINGS。我們鼓勵中介機構就此調查預先進行規劃,包括安排任何所需的資源和系統優化工作。Excel格式的調查問卷將約於2020年中登載於WINGS。

證監會與金管局將在2020年底發出另一份通函,提供更多有關提交調查問卷的資料。

證監會將與金管局(即註冊機構的前線監管機關)分享註冊機構於是項調查中提交的資料。所有於是項調查中收集的資料將會絕對保密。除了以匿名的形式發表總體統計數字外,證監會與金管局將不會向第三方披露於調查中收集的任何資料。

隨著是項調查的展開,證監會將不再進行其每兩年一次的同類調查5。金管局亦會檢視其就銀行向零售客戶銷售投資產品的情況而進行的調查,並會適時另行與註冊機構溝通。

如對本通函的內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1707聯絡證監會中介機構監察科的麥珍女士,或聯絡貴公司的個案主任。有關使用WINGS的技術協助,請致電技術熱線2207 9333或電郵至TechEnquiries@wings.sfc.hk

 

證券及期貨事務監察委員會                               香港金融管理局
中介機構部                                                 銀行操守部
中介機構監察科

完 

SFO/IS/059/2019
HKMA/B1/15C


1   《證券及期貨(專業投資者)規則》(第571D章)(簡稱《專業投資者規則》)第5條所指的個人。
2
   《專業投資者規則》第4、6及7條所指的信託法團、法團或合夥。惟若中介機構已獲寬免而無須遵守《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》第15.4段中有關為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任,有關法團專業投資者便不包括在是項調查的範圍內。
3
   《證券及期貨條例》(第571章)附表1第1部第1條有關“專業投資者"定義(a)至(i)段所指的人士。
4
    WINGS(Web-based INteGrated Service的縮寫)是用以向證監會提交電子資料的網上綜合服務網站。
5
    證監會曾在2018年、2016年、2014年及2012年就持牌法團向個人投資者銷售非交易所買賣投資產品的情況進行實況調查,並發表了調查報告。有關報告可於證監會網站取覽。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2019年12月6日