Circular to intermediaries
Extended deadlines for implementation of regulatory expectations and reminder of order recording requirements under COVID-19 pandemic

31 Mar 2020



The Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) is closely monitoring the development of the global COVID-19 pandemic. The SFC is aware of concerns from the industry that staff performing different functions locally and overseas may encounter difficulties in working from their usual place of business due to recent government policies such as travel bans, regional lockdowns and mandatory quarantine periods.  Further, some intermediaries have decided to reconfigure their staffing arrangements to limit COVID-19 infection risks.

As communicated previously1, intermediaries are generally expected to make all reasonable efforts to comply with regulatory obligations. At a time of unprecedented market activity and volatility, intermediaries are expected to remain focused on internal controls and risk management to ensure financial and operational resilience.

The SFC appreciates that intermediaries face operational and “business as usual” challenges, which differ between intermediaries depending, among other factors, on their individual sizes and the types of regulated activity they carry out. The SFC would continue ongoing dialogue with the industry and provide regulatory flexibility to help intermediaries cope with COVID-19 challenges while ensuring that market integrity and investor protection principles are maintained.

This circular informs the industry that the SFC has decided to extend the deadlines of three regulatory expectations that are due for implementation in 2020 by six months in light of the pandemic and the disruptions it causes. It also reminds intermediaries of the alternative order recording options under the existing regulatory framework that may be adopted during the pandemic.  

Separately, the SFC has issued FAQs today to address a number of licensing related matters arising from firms reconfiguring staffing arrangements.  

1.            Extended deadlines for implementation of regulatory expectations

The SFC has decided to extend the deadlines for implementation of the following regulatory expectations by six months:

Upcoming regulatory expectations for implementation

Original implementation deadline

Extended implementation deadline

Use of external electronic data storage (“EDSP”) – Where a data centre of an EDSP used by a licensed corporation has been approved under section 130 of the SFO before 31 October 2019, the licensed corporation’s provision of the documents to the SFC’s Licensing Department set out in paragraph 25 of the Circular2

30 June 2020

31 December 20203

New measure to protect client assets – Where intermediaries are required to have the countersigned acknowledgement letters from relevant banks in place before depositing any client money or securities into any new client asset accounts4

31 July 2020

31 January 2021

Data standards for order life cycles – Where in-scope brokers are expected to implement system changes and make other arrangements needed for compliance with the data standards5

31 October 2020

30   April 2021

2.         Compliance with order recording requirements

In light of the global COVID-19 pandemic, intermediaries’ staff may not work from their usual place of business.  The SFC understands that many intermediaries have provided their staff with remote access to order management systems, which are capable of centralised order recording for orders placed from a remote location.

However, some intermediaries may encounter challenges in ensuring compliance with the order recording requirements set out in paragraph 3.9 of the Code of Conduct6, which provides that a licensed or registered person should:

(a)          Record and immediately time stamp records of the particulars of the instructions for agency orders and internally generated orders.

(b)          Use a telephone recording system, where order instructions are received from clients through the telephone, to record the instructions and maintain telephone recordings as part of its records for at least six months.

The SFC wishes to remind intermediaries that alternative order receiving and recording options are available to comply with the regulatory requirements, which can be adopted by intermediaries as appropriate to meet the needs of their current circumstances:

(a)          The notes to paragraph 3.9 of the Code of Conduct explain how orders should be recorded when, exceptionally, they are not recorded by the intermediaries’ telephone recording or order management systems.  Specifically,  

(i)            Where orders are accepted by mobile phones outside the trading floor, trading room, usual place of business where orders are received or usual place where business is conducted, intermediaries’ staff members should immediately call back to the intermediaries’ telephone system and record the time of receipt and the order details.

(ii)           The use of other formats (e.g. in writing by hand) to record details of clients’ order instructions and time of receipt can be used if the intermediaries’ telephone recording system cannot be accessed.

(b)          Intermediaries may receive client orders through instant messaging where the requirements set out in the SFC’s circular dated 4 May 20187 in relation to record keeping, security and reliability, compliance monitoring and establishing internal policies and procedures are observed.

When considering order placing and recording alternatives, intermediaries should have in place appropriate control measures for ensuring that the alternatives are properly implemented in compliance with the order recording requirements.

As explained previously8, complete and accurate records are an integral part of the audit trail. They ensure that reliable evidence is available to assess disputes with clients about the particulars of a trade order.  This protects the interests of both the intermediary and the client.  Proper records also serve as a useful supervisory tool to detect irregularities and potential malpractices for intermediaries and the SFC.

Should you have any questions regarding this circular, please contact your case officer.

Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/012/2020


1 “Arrangements relating to SFC’s public services”, SFC Press Release, 5 February 2020.
2 Circular to licensed corporations – Use of external electronic data storage, 31 October 2019 [SFO/IS/048/2019].
3 Licensed corporations that are already keeping records exclusively with electronic data storage providers, whether in Hong Kong or overseas, are reminded to notify the SFC without delay.
4 Circular to intermediaries – New measure to protect client assets, 8 July 2019 [SFO/IS/038/2019].
5 Circular to licensed corporations – Data standards for order life cycles, 31 July 2019 [SFO/IS/040/2019].
6 Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission (“Code of Conduct”).
7 Circular to intermediaries – Receiving client orders through instant messaging, 4 May 2018 [SFO/IS/025/2018].
8 The explanation can be found most recently in Circular to intermediaries – Receiving client orders through instant messaging, 4 May 2018.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 31 Mar 2020

致中介機構的通函
有關在新冠疫情下順延監管要求的實施期限及提醒業界注意記錄交易指示規定

2020年3月31日



證券及期貨事務監察委員會(“證監會”)正密切監察2019冠狀病毒(即COVID-19,簡稱新冠病毒)全球大流行的發展情況。證監會知悉業界對於不同職能的本地及海外員工可能會因近期各地政府的政策(例如旅遊禁令、地區封鎖及強制隔離期)而難以在通常的辦公地點工作表示顧慮。此外,部分中介機構已決定就職員的工作調配重新作出安排,以減低新冠病毒的感染風險。

正如本會先前所公布1,中介機構在一般情況下應合理地盡一切努力,確保履行監管的責任。對於面對前所未見的市場形勢及波動,中介機構應繼續專注於內部監控和風險管理,確保在財政及營運方面均具備抵禦衝擊的能力。

證監會理解到,各中介機構因應其規模和所進行受規管活動的種類等因素,在營運及維持“正常業務運作”上面對著種種挑戰。我們會繼續與業界保持溝通,並會確保在秉持市場廉潔穩健和保障投資者的原則下,於監管上給予彈性處理的空間,以協助中介機構應付新冠病毒帶來的挑戰。

本通函旨在告知業界,鑑於新冠病毒已出現大流行並造成了種種衝擊,證監會決定將原定於2020年實施的三項監管要求的期限順延六個月。本會亦藉此機會提醒中介機構,於大流行期間在現行的監管框架下就記錄交易指示可選用的替代方案。

另外,證監會今天發出了一份常見問題,以解答因機構重新調配職員的工作安排而產生與牌照相關事務的一系列問題。

1.            順延監管要求的實施期限

證監會決定將下列監管要求的實施期限順延六個月:

即將實施的監管要求

原定的實施期限

經順延的實施期限

外間電子數據儲存的使用──當中要求持牌法團若採用的電子數據儲存供應商的數據中心已於2019年10月31日前根據《證券及期貨條例》第130條獲得批准,便應向證監會發牌科提供有關通函第25段所述的文件2

2020年6月30日

2020年12月31日3

保障客戶資產的新措施──當中要求中介機構將任何客戶款項或證券存入新開設的客戶資產帳戶前,必須備妥已由相關銀行加簽的確認函4

2020年7月31日

2021年1月31日

適用於買賣盤生命周期的數據標準──當中要求該範圍內的經紀行應更改系統及作出其他所需的安排,以遵循數據標準5

2020年10月31日

2021年4月30日

2.            遵循記錄交易指示規定

鑑於出現了新冠病毒全球大流行,中介機構的職員可能不會在通常的辦公地點工作。證監會明白,不少中介機構向職員提供了交易指示管理系統的遙距接達權,這些系統能夠集中記錄在遙距地點發出的交易指示。

然而,部分中介機構在確保遵循《操守準則》6 第3.9段所載的記錄交易指示規定方面,可能會因為當中對持牌人或註冊人的以下規定而遭遇種種挑戰。第3.9段規定:

(a)          應記錄其以代理人身分接收的交易指示及來自公司內部的交易指示的細節,並立即在有關紀錄之上蓋上時間印章。

(b)          在透過電話收取客戶交易指示時,應利用電話錄音系統記錄有關的指示,並保存有關的電話錄音作為其紀錄的一部分,為期至少六個月。

證監會希望提醒中介機構,它們可選用替代方案來收取和記錄交易指示,以遵循監管規定。中介機構可在適當情況下採用有關方案,以配合其當前情況的需要:

(a)          《操守準則》第3.9段的備註闡釋,當交易指示於例外情況下並無記錄在中介機構的電話錄音系統或交易指示管理系統時,有關交易指示應如何被記錄下來。具體而言:  

(i)            若在交易場地、盤房、收取交易指示的通常營業地點或通常經營業務的地點以外的地方以流動電話接受交易指示的話,中介機構的職員應立即致電該中介機構的電話錄音系統,記錄其收到交易指示的時間及有關指示的詳情。

(ii)           在不能接駁到中介機構的電話錄音系統的情況下可使用其他方式(例如用人手以書面方式)將客戶交易指示的詳情及收到交易指示的時間記錄下來。

(b)          若中介機構符合有關備存紀錄、安全性及可靠性、合規監察及制定書面政策和程序的規定(載於證監會在2018年5月4日發出的通函7),便可透過即時通訊來收取客戶交易指示。

在考慮採取有關發出及記錄交易指示的替代方案時,中介機構應制定適當的監控措施,確保有關替代方案能按照記錄交易指示規定妥為實施。

正如我們先前所解釋8,完整及準確的紀錄是審計線索不可或缺的部分。在中介機構與客戶就某項交易指示的細節存在爭議時,有關紀錄便能確保有可靠的證據,以對爭議進行評估,這保障了中介機構及客戶的權益。對中介機構及證監會而言,妥善的紀錄亦可作為一種有用的監督工具,以偵測不合常規的情況及潛在的不當行為。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請聯絡你的個案主任。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部

SFO/IS/012/2020


1 證監會於2020年2月5日發出題為《有關證監會公共服務的安排》的新聞稿
2 《致持牌法團的通函──外間電子數據儲存的使用》(2019年10月31日)[SFO/IS/048/2019]
3 現時只在電子數據儲存供應商(不論是在香港或海外)存放紀錄的持牌法團,務必通知證監會,不得延誤。
4 《致中介機構的通函──保障客戶資產的新措施》(2019年7月8日)[SFO/IS/038/2019]
5 《致持牌法團的通函──適用於買賣盤生命周期的數據標準》(2019年7月31日)[SFO/IS/040/2019]
6 《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》(簡稱《操守準則》)。
7 《致中介人的通函—透過即時通訊收取客戶交易指示》(2018年5月4日)[SFO/IS/025/2018]
8 有關解釋載於本會最近在2018年5月4日發出的《致中介人的通函—透過即時通訊收取客戶交易指示》內。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2020年3月31日