Circular to commodity futures brokers
Managing financial and operational risks under extreme market conditions

24 Apr 2020



In light of the unprecedented volatility in overseas crude oil futures markets and the upcoming local public holidays when these markets will remain open, the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) reminds all commodity futures brokers to vigilantly control their risk exposures and maintain sufficient resources to deal with the challenges posed by extreme market conditions.

The SFC recently found that two commodity futures brokers committed significant, though short-term, breaches of the liquid capital requirements under the Securities and Futures (Financial Resources) Rules (FRR) due to failures to collect large amounts in margin calls amidst the volatility in overseas crude oil futures markets. Although the breaches were resolved, they illustrate the importance of taking more prudent risk management measures to protect the firm’s operations and ensure compliance with regulatory requirements in extreme circumstances.

Commodity futures brokers are urged to control their exposures to clients, including by taking the following measures.

(a) Monitor and address individual clients’ concentration risks in a timely manner.

(b) Prudently set clients’ trading limits and position limits to ensure that they are commensurate with the client’s financial strength and settlement history, as well as the firm’s financial resources.

(c) Prudently set margin requirements for clients and consider:

(i) raising margin requirements above the levels required by the clearing house or clearing agent to appropriately reflect prevailing market conditions, the client’s financial strength and settlement history, and the firm’s ability to meet margin calls (including intraday calls) on client positions from the clearing house or clearing agent; and

(ii) adding a margin cushion to cover the risk of being unable to collect additional margin from clients during holidays and weekends, in particular long weekends.

(d) Only open new positions for clients after collecting sufficient margins.

(e) Promptly collect outstanding margin calls from clients.

Commodity futures brokers are also required to closely monitor changes in market conditions and margin requirements set by clearing houses or clearing agents and rigorously assess their impact on the firm’s risk exposures, cash flow and liquid capital. Stress tests and liquid capital computations should be carried out regularly and at times of high market volatility.  Failure to maintain sufficient liquidity to meet operating needs, including meeting payment obligations to clients, clearing houses and clearing agents, or maintain sufficient liquid capital in accordance with the FRR, may result in serious regulatory consequences. Where necessary, contingent funding and capital support from group companies or shareholders should be pre-arranged to ensure the firm can cope with emergencies.

Commodity futures brokers are also reminded to diligently supervise their operations to mitigate operational risks and safeguard client assets. Proper controls should be in place to ensure that transfers of client money to overseas clearing houses or clearing agents comply with the requirements of the Securities and Futures (Client Money) Rules. Client margin deposits held with overseas clearing houses or clearing agents should be properly safeguarded and accounted for.

Commodity futures brokers dealing through overseas counterparties should also establish and maintain policies and procedures to ensure the proper management of risks to which the firms and their clients are exposed. Reference should be made to the SFC’s circular dated 23 November 2011[1].

In addition, under paragraph 5.3 of the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission, licensed persons are required to assure themselves that clients trading futures, options or other derivative products understand the nature and risks of these products and have sufficient net worth to assume the risks and bear the potential losses. Accordingly, in light of the recent extreme price movements of crude oil futures, commodity futures brokers must reassess their clients’ financial capability to bear the potential losses arising from trading in these products and should not open new positions for those clients who are unable to bear them.

The abovementioned measures are by no means exclusive or exhaustive. Senior management of commodity futures brokers are responsible for the proper management of the risks and operations of their firms, including the evaluation of the firm’s risk exposures and the maintenance of appropriate risk management policies, control procedures and adequate resources. Under changing market conditions, any failure to prudently manage risks, or mistakes or omissions in operations, may result in significant adverse financial and operational consequences and affect client interests. Failure to properly carry out management duties or protect client interests may result in regulatory actions.

Should you have any questions regarding the contents of this circular, please contact your case officer.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/017/2020

[1] Circular to All Licensed Corporations: Provision of services to clients for conducting transactions in other jurisdictions.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 24 Apr 2020

致商品期貨經紀行的通函
管理在極端市況下的財務及營運風險

2020年4月24日



鑑於海外原油期貨市場出現前所未見的波動,而且在本地公眾假期期間仍會繼續運作,證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)遂提醒所有商品期貨經紀行須嚴密地監控其風險承擔,並維持足夠資源,以應對極端市況帶來的挑戰。

最近,證監會發現有兩家商品期貨經紀行嚴重地(雖然短期)違反了《證券及期貨(財政資源)規則》(《財政資源規則》)下的速動資金規定,原因是在海外原油期貨市場波動時,它們追繳保證金時未能收回大額的保證金。儘管違規事項已經解決,但卻說明了在極端情況下經紀行務必採取更審慎的風險管理措施,才能保障商號的營運及確保遵循監管規定。

我們敦促商品期貨經紀行控制對客戶的風險承擔,包括採取以下措施。

(a) 及時監察並處理個別客戶的集中風險。

(b) 審慎地設定客戶的交易限額及持倉限額,以確保有關限額與客戶的財政實力和交收往績,以及商號的財政資源相稱。

(c) 審慎地為客戶訂立保證金規定,並考慮:

(i) 將保證金規定調高至結算所或結算代理所要求的水平之上,以適當地反映當前市況,客戶的財政實力和交收往績,以及商號在支付結算所或結算代理就客戶持倉要求的追繳保證金(包括即日追繳保證金)方面的能力;及

(ii) 增設保證金緩衝額,以涵蓋在假日及周末(尤其是長周末)期間未能向客戶收取額外保證金的風險。

(d) 僅在收取充足的保證金後才為客戶開立新持倉。  

(e) 迅速向客戶收取未清償的追繳保證金。

商品期貨經紀行亦須密切監察市況變化,以及結算所或結算代理對其設定的保證金規定所作的更改,並審慎地評估有關轉變對商號的風險承擔、現金流量和速動資金造成的影響。它們應定期並且在市場大幅波動時進行壓力測試和計算速動資金。商號如未能維持充足的流動資金來應付營運需要(包括向客戶、結算所及結算代理履行付款責任)或未能根據《財政資源規則》維持充足的速動資金,可招致嚴重監管後果。必要時,商號應事先安排向集團公司或股東獲取應急資金及資本支持,以確保能夠應付緊急情況。

商品期貨經紀行亦應勤勉盡責地監督其運作,以減低營運風險及保障客戶資產,並應制定適當的監控措施,確保以符合《證券及期貨(客戶款項)規則》的方式將客戶款項轉帳至海外結算所或結算代理。存放於海外結算所或結算代理的客戶保證金存款應獲得妥善的保障與記帳。

透過海外對手方進行交易的商品期貨經紀行應建立並維持相關的政策及程序,以確保商號本身及其客戶所承受的風險獲得適當的管理。經紀行應參考證監會2011年11月23日的通函[1]

此外,根據《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》第5.3段,持牌人須確保買賣期貨、期權或其他衍生產品的客戶明白有關產品的性質和風險,並有足夠淨資產來承擔風險和潛在損失。故此,鑑於近期原油期貨價格出現極端波動,商品期貨經紀行必須重新評估其客戶的財政能力是否足以承擔因買賣相關產品而可能招致的損失,並且不應為沒有能力承擔潛在損失的客戶開立新持倉。

上述措施絕非唯一的方法或屬詳盡無遺。商品期貨經紀行的高級管理層有責任妥善管理其商號的風險和運作,包括評估它們的風險承擔,以及維持適當的風險管理政策、監控程序及足夠的資源。在不斷轉變的市況下,任何未能審慎地管理風險或在營運過程中出現錯誤或遺漏的情況,都可能對其財政及運作招致重大的不良後果,及影響客戶利益。高級管理層如未能妥善履行管理職責或保障客戶利益,可能招致監管行動。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請聯絡貴公司的個案主任。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/017/2020

[1] 《致所有持牌法團的通函:向客戶提供在其他司法管轄區進行交易的服務》。

 


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2020年4月24日