Circular to All Intermediaries - Frequently Asked Questions on Corporate Professional Investor Assessment

8 Sep 2020



Under paragraph 15 of the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission (the Code), an intermediary is required to, among other things, assess whether a Corporate Professional Investor meets certain criteria before the intermediary can be exempted from certain Code requirements when dealing with the Corporate Professional Investor in relation to relevant products or markets.  In January 2015, the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) issued a set of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) to provide practical guidance on how intermediaries should conduct such an assessment.

In light of the queries from the industry, the SFC has updated the answer to Question 2 of the abovementioned set of FAQs to provide further guidance on the assessment of the corporate structure and investment process of Corporate Professional Investors, in particular those investment vehicles owned by family trusts or family offices that engage investment professionals to manage their investments. 

Intermediaries should note that the SFC will take into account compliance with the guidance in the FAQs to determine whether a licenced or registered person is fit and proper to carry out the relevant regulated activities. 

A copy of the revised FAQ is attached to this circular for your information.  The full set of the FAQs is available on the SFC website at http://www.sfc.hk under the section “Regulatory functions – Intermediaries – Supervision – FAQs – Professional Investors”. 

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kammy Kwok at 2231 1455 or your case officer.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

Enclosure

End

SFO/IS/031/2020


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Appendix


Page last updated : 8 Sep 2020

致所有中介人的通函 - 有關法團專業投資者評估的《常見問題》

2020年9月8日



根據《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》(《操守準則》)第15段,中介人在就有關產品或市場與法團專業投資者進行交易時,須在(除其他事項外)對該法團專業投資者是否符合某些條件進行評估後,方可獲豁免遵守《操守準則》的若干規定。2015年1月,證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)發布了一系列《常見問題》,就中介人應如何進行該項評估提供了實用指引。

鑑於來自業界的查詢,證監會更新了上述一系列《常見問題》內問題2的答案,以便就評估法團專業投資者(尤其是那些委聘投資專家管理其投資的家族信託或家族辦公室擁有的投資公司)的企業架構及投資程序提供進一步的指引。

中介人應注意,證監會在決定持牌人或註冊人是否為進行有關受規管活動的適當人選時,會考慮《常見問題》內所載列的指引是否已獲得遵守。

現隨本通函夾附經修訂的《常見問題》,以供參考。該一整系列的《常見問題》刊載於證監會網站 http://www.sfc.hk〈監管職能 ─ 中介人 ─ 監管事宜 ─ 常見問題 ─ 專業投資者〉一欄內。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1455與郭嘉慧女士聯絡,或聯絡你的個案主任。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

連附件

SFO/IS/031/2020


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
附件


最後更新日期 : 2020年9月8日