Circular to Intermediaries - Reminder of important obligations to ensure suitability and timely dissemination of information to clients

27 Mar 2020



This circular reminds licensed and registered persons of their obligations under the Code of Conduct1 when distributing investment products, such as funds and bonds, to their clients. In particular, these include (i) the suitability obligations when they make a solicitation or recommendation and (ii) the obligation to disseminate information in a timely manner where they hold an investment product directly or indirectly on behalf of their clients.

Given the potential impact of the COVID-19 outbreak on market volatility and liquidity as well as credit quality, licensed and registered persons are reminded to act in the best interests of their clients2 and exercise extra care when making a solicitation or recommendation or managing investment portfolios for their clients. 

To fulfil their suitability obligations under the Code of Conduct3, licensed and registered persons are reminded to, amongst other things:

Further, where licensed or registered persons hold investment products directly or indirectly on behalf of their clients, they are also reminded to disseminate to their clients notices and other communications prepared or issued by the investment products’ issuers, product arrangers or management companies on a timely basis upon receipt4. These notices or communications may include material information or updates crucial for investment decisions, eg, untoward circumstances relating to a fund which may include use of liquidity risk management tools by a fund manager5

The SFC will continue to assess compliance with the regulatory requirements during its on-going monitoring of licensed corporations. 

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact your case officer.

 

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/011/2020


1 Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC).
2
General Principle 2 of the Code of Conduct.
3
The suitability obligations are set out in paragraph 5.2 of the Code of Conduct and supplemented by FAQs on Triggering of Suitability Obligations and FAQs on Compliance with Suitability Obligations issued in December 2016.
4
Please refer to the Circular on Obligations Relating to Selling / Distribution of Investment Products dated 28 May 2010.
5
For example, a fund manager’s intention to increase or apply any swing factor (or anti-dilution levy) exceeding the one that is disclosed in the fund’s offering documents, decision to defer redemption, suspend creation and redemption in the primary market or secondary market trading, and the potential impact on the fund. Please refer to the Circular to management companies and trustees and custodians of SFC-authorized funds dated 27 March 2020.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 27 Mar 2020

致中介人的通函 - 有關確保為客戶提供合理適當建議和及時向客戶發放資料的重要責任的提示

2020年3月27日



本通函旨在提醒持牌人及註冊人在向客戶分銷投資產品(例如基金及債券)時,注意其在《操守準則》1下的責任,特別是(i)在作出招攬或建議行為時為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任;及(ii)在為客戶直接或間接持有投資產品的情況下及時發放資料的責任。

鑑於2019冠狀病毒(即COVID-19)疫情對市場波動性和流通性以至信貸質素的潛在影響,持牌人或註冊人在作出招攬或建議行為或為客戶管理投資組合時,應以客戶的最佳利益行事2及格外審慎。

為履行其在《操守準則》下有關為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任3,持牌人及註冊人應(除其他事項外):

此外,持牌人或註冊人如為客戶直接或間接持有投資產品,亦應在收到有關投資產品的發行人、產品安排人或管理公司所擬備或發出的通告及其他通訊後,及時向客戶發放有關通告及通訊4。有關通告或通訊可能載有對投資決策而言至為關鍵的重要資料或更新,例如與基金有關的異常情況,當中可能包括基金經理採用流通性風險管理工具5

證券及期貨事務監察委員會將在持續監察持牌機構的過程中,繼續評估它們在遵守監管規定方面的情況。 

如對本通函的內容有任何疑問,請聯絡你的個案主任。

 

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/011/2020


1 《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》。
2
《操守準則》第2項一般原則。
3
為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任載於《操守準則》第5.2段,並經由在2016年12月發表的《有關觸發為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任的常見問題》和《有關遵守為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任的常見問題》作補充。
4
請參閱日期為2010年5月28日的《致持牌法團及註冊機構的通函──與銷售/分銷投資產品有關的責任》。
5
舉例來說,基金經理擬增加或採用任何超過在基金銷售文件披露的波動因子(或反攤薄徵費);決定押後贖回,暫停在一級市場上申購及贖回申請或二級市場上買賣;及對基金的潛在影響。請參閱日期為2020年3月27日發表致證監會認可基金的管理公司和受託人及保管人的通函。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2020年3月27日