Concurrent SFC-HKMA thematic review of spread charges and other practices

18 May 2020



The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) and the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) will commence a concurrent thematic review in the second half of this year to assess intermediaries’ spread charges and other practices as well as their compliance with requirements governing the disclosure of trading capacity and monetary benefits under the Code of Conduct1. The review will cover the selected intermediaries’ policies, procedures, systems and controls as well as management oversight of the distribution to clients of non-exchange traded investment products such as bonds and structured products.

Conflicts of interest may arise when intermediaries manage trades for clients. The concurrent thematic review aims to ascertain whether charges may be in excess of the spreads or fees disclosed in the intermediaries’ standard documents to clients, or as agreed with or understood by the clients, or spreads may be increased after a trade is executed and the price improvement is retained without agreement with or disclosure to clients. The review will also ascertain whether intermediaries understand and properly disclose the capacity in which they are acting when conducting trades for clients.

The Code of Conduct provides that intermediaries should act honestly, fairly, and with due skill, care and diligence in the best interests of their clients2; make adequate disclosure of relevant material information in their dealings with their clients3; and avoid conflicts of interest, and when they cannot be avoided, ensure that their clients are treated fairly4. To comply with these requirements, intermediaries are expected to:

The findings of the concurrent thematic review will form the basis for the SFC and the HKMA to assess intermediaries’ compliance, and in the event of a breach, take regulatory action. The SFC and the HKMA will also share the findings of the thematic review with the industry and consider the need for further guidance, where appropriate.

Should you have any questions regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kiki Wong at the Intermediaries Supervision Department of the SFC on 2231 1569 or Ms Eloise Pun at the Banking Conduct Department of the HKMA on 2878 1903.

Intermediaries Supervision Department                   Banking Conduct Department
Intermediaries Division                                         Hong Kong Monetary Authority
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/023/2020
HKMA/B1/15C


1 Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission.
2 GP1, GP2 and paragraph 3.10 of the Code of Conduct.
3 GP5, paragraphs 8.3 and 8.3A of the Code of Conduct.
4 GP6 and paragraph 10.1 of the Code of Conduct.
5 Including post-trade spread increases.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 18 May 2020

證監會與金管局就利潤幅度及其他作業手法進行共同主題檢視

2020年5月18日



證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)與香港金融管理局(金管局)將於今年下半年展開共同主題檢視,以評估中介機構所收取的利潤幅度和所採取的其他作業手法,以及它們遵守《操守準則》1內有關披露交易身分及金錢收益規定的情況。是次檢視的範圍將涵蓋選定中介機構的政策、程序、系統和監控措施,以及管理層對於向客戶分銷非交易所買賣的投資產品(例如債券及結構性產品)的監察情況。

中介機構替客戶進行交易時可能會產生利益衝突。 是次共同主題檢視目的是探究中介機構所收取的費用是否超出其向客戶發出的標準文件內所披露或與客戶所協定或客戶所理解的利潤幅度或費用;會否於執行交易後調高利潤幅度;或在未與客戶協定或向客戶披露的情況下,保留有利的價格差異。同時亦會檢視中介機構在替客戶進行交易時,是否理解及妥善披露它們以何種身分行事。

《操守準則》訂明,中介機構應以誠實公平的原則、適當的技能、小心審慎和勤勉盡責的態度行事,藉以維護客戶的最佳利益2;與客戶進行交易時應充分披露有關的重要資料3;避免利益衝突,在利益衝突無法避免時,亦要確保客戶得到公平的對待4。為符合上述規定,中介機構應:

是次共同主題檢視的結果將成為證監會及金管局評估中介機構合規情況及在出現違規時採取監管行動的基礎。證監會及金管局亦會在適當時候與業界分享是次主題檢視的結果及考慮提供進一步的指引。

如對本通函的內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1569聯絡證監會中介機構監察科的王凱琪女士,或致電2878 1903聯絡金管局銀行操守部的潘寶儀女士。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會                                      香港金融管理局
中介機構部                                                         銀行操守部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/023/2020
HKMA/B1/15C


1《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》。
2
《操守準則》第1項一般原則、第2項一般原則及第3.10段。
3
《操守準則》第5項一般原則、第8.3及8.3A段。
4
《操守準則》第6項一般原則及第10.1段。
5
包括在買賣後增加利潤幅度。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2020年5月18日