Securities & Futures Commission of Hong Kong

Guidelines for the approval of corporations as approved lending agents

ECURITIES AND FUTURES (DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS – SECURITIES BORROWING AND LENDING) RULES (CAP. 571 SUB. LEG)

Under Section 8 of the Securities and Futures (Disclosure of Interests – Securities Borrowing and Lending) Rules (Cap 571 sub. leg.) the Securities and Futures Commission publishes these guidelines for the approval of corporations as approved lending agents 


1. Definitions

Terms that are defined in section 308 of the SFO, Schedule 1 to the SFO and the SBL Rules have the same meaning in these Guidelines. In addition :

“client” in relation to an applicant that is a lending agent, means a principal for whom the lending agent lends shares or holds shares that are available for lending;

“Guidelines” means these guidelines made pursuant to section 8 of the SBL Rules;

“lending agent” means a person who is authorised to lend shares as agent for a principal;

“lending pool” means shares in the relevant share capital of a listed corporation that are held by a lending agent on behalf of his clients that are available for lending, and includes shares that have been lent if the right to the return of the shares has not been extinguished;

“Part XV” means Part XV of the SFO;

“SBL Rules” means the Securities and Futures (Disclosure of Interests – Securities Borrowing and Lending) Rules (Cap 571 sub. leg.)

“SFC” means the Securities and Futures Commission;
“SFO” means the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571); and

“substantial shareholder” means a person or corporation who has an interest in shares comprising 5% or more of a listed corporation’s relevant share capital.

2.  Nature and Purpose of these Guidelines for Approval    

2.1
in the securities of listed corporations. Disclosure of information to investors and the market is the cornerstone of a fair and orderly securities market. Disclosure of interests of substantial shareholders is an important element of an informed market. Nevertheless, in securities borrowing and lending business, a large number of loans and returns of shares can be transacted from the same lending pool. This would give rise to a large number of disclosures for movements in the same lending pool, which may be of limited value to investors. Accordingly the SBL Rules establish a simplified disclosure regime that will limit the disclosure obligations of certain classes of participants in the SBL market without undermining the integrity of the disclosure regime or compromising investor protection.

2.2 Substantial shareholders, who lend through an approved lending agent, on condition that the shares are held by the ALA

(a)  as agent for the substantial shareholder,

(b)  for lending only and for no other purpose; and

c)  are lent using only a specified form of agreement (i.e. a relevant agreement1 as defined),

will be exempt from making disclosures of changes in the nature of their interests that result from –

(i)  the transfer of the shares to the approved lending agent and the return of the shares by the approved lending agent; and

(ii)  the lending of the shares by the approved lending agent and the return of the shares to him (section 3 of the SBL Rules).

2.3 Corporations approved by the Commission as approved lending agents will be exempted from disclosure requirements which would otherwise arise when they lend shares from their lending pool or when shares are returned to their lending pool. Approved lending agents will have to disclose changes in the percentage level of their lending pool but the amount of information required to be included in their notification has been simplified (combined effect of sections 4, 5, and 6 of the SBL Rules).

2.4 The simplified disclosure regime for approved lending agents also extends to holding companies of approved lending agents that are taken to be interested in shares in which an approved lending agent is interested under section 316(2) of the SFO. Accordingly, a holding company will be exempted from disclosure requirements which would otherwise arise when the approved lending agent that it controls lends shares from its lending pool or when shares are returned to its lending pool. However, the SBL Rules do not suspend the duty on the holding company of an approved lending agent to aggregate the interests in shares of an approved lending agent that it controls.

2.5 Approved lending agents taking advantage of the simplified disclosure regime under SBL Rules will have to keep records of certain transactions in accordance with the requirements set out in section 9 of the SBL Rules. 

Enabling provisions and general qualification

2.6 Under section 8 of the SBL Rules the SFC may upon application by a corporation, approve in writing, the corporation as an approved lending agent for the purposes of the SBL Rules. An approval under section 8(1) shall be subject to compliance by the applicant corporation with section 9 of the SBL Rules (keeping of records) and such reasonable conditions as the Commission may impose from time to time.

2.7 These Guidelines set out the criteria that the SFC will take into account when deciding whether to grant an approval. The Guidelines are not exhaustive. They are simply intended to assist applicants in understanding the matters that the SFC will take into consideration when deciding whether to exercise its discretion to grant an approval. They may be modified or varied as circumstances require. Similarly an approval, once granted, can be withdrawn or any conditions attached modified or varied by the SFC as circumstances change.

3. Application for an Approval under section 8 of the SBL Rules

3.1 An application must be directed to the Corporate Finance Division of the SFC. Under the Securities and Futures (Fees) Rules (Schedule 3 item 20) the prescribed fee for an application for approval as an approved lending agent is $24,000.

3.2 The applicant, when deciding what matters to include in its written application, should have regard to the Guidelines. The SFC may request additional information or make such enquiries as it considers appropriate when considering any application.

3.3 Approvals may be made subject to such reasonable conditions as the SFC impose from time to time.

4. General Criteria for Approval under section 8 of the SBL Rules

4.1 Generally, the SFC will not consider granting approval except to a corporation which is a custodian or a third party lending agent.

4.2 The SFC will take into account all relevant facts and circumstances, including the following matters in deciding whether to approve a corporation as an approved lending agent under section 8(1) of the SBL Rules and whether to withdraw its approval :

(a)  the principal business of the applicant and the other businesses conducted by the applicant;

(b)  whether the applicant is licensed is licensed to deal in securities in Hong Kong or in one of the following places Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Guernsey, Ireland, Isle of Man, Jersey, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Singapore, Switzerland, United Kingdom or United States of America;

(c) whether any client of the applicant, or person to whom the applicant lends shares from its lending pool, is a controlling entity of the applicant or a subsidiary of the controlling entity of the applicant, and the proportion of the lending business that such clients represent. 

Additional information to be provided to the SFC

4.3 The applicant must provide the SFC with -

(a)  details of the number of shares of each listed corporation that it holds in its lending pool;

(b)  the names of all persons(s) in accordance with whose directions or instructions the applicant or its directors are accustomed to act (including the name of the ultimate holding company of the applicant);

(c)  confirmation that each client agreement, under which the applicant will be appointed as lending agent for its clients in its capacity as an approved lending agent, will contain the conditions referred to in section 3(2)(2)(a) of the SBL Rules; and

(d)  confirmation that the terms of the agreements that the applicant will enter into with each borrower prior to lending qualified shares will qualify as “relevant agreements” within the meaning of s.2 of the SBL Rules.

Conditions

4.4 The following conditions will be imposed on an Approved Lending Agent :

(a)  The approved lending agent must have a written agreement with each of its clients containing the conditions referred to in section 3(2)(2)(a) of the SBL Rules.

(b)  Before lending qualified shares to a borrower the approved lending agent must have a written agreement that is a relevant agreement (within the meaning of section 2 of the SBL Rules) with that borrower.

(c)  The approved lending agent, the controlling entity of the applicant, and any subsidiary of a controlling entity of the applicant, must not treat the following shares as “qualified shares” for the purposes of the SBL Rules:

(i)  shares in which a controlling entity of the applicant, or any subsidiary of a controlling entity of the applicant, are interested; or

(ii)  shares in which the approved lending agent is interested otherwise than as lending agent for a client. 

(d)  The approved lending agent must not lend qualified shares from its lending pool shares to :

(i)  a controlling entity of the applicant, or any subsidiary of a controlling entity of the applicant; or

(ii)  the approved lending agent itself.

(e)  The approved lending agent must inform the SFC of :

(i)  any material changes in the particulars supplied to the SFC;

(ii)  if it ceases to carry on business as a custodian or lending agent;

(iii)  if it fails to comply with these conditions; or

(iv)  if it fails to comply with any requirement imposed under section 9 of the SBL Rules.

4.5 The SFC may from time to time impose such further reasonable conditions as it thinks fit. Approval of the lending agent as an approved lending agent will be withdrawn if it breaches a condition imposed on it.

4.6 The SFC will from time to time publish on its web site a list of the names of approved lending agents. 


3.7247 s

證監會

就核准法團為核准借出代理人而發出的指引

《證券及期貨(權益披露 — 證券借貸)規則》 (第 571 章,附屬法例)

證券及期貨事務監察委員會 根據《證券及期貨(權益披露 — 證券借貸)規則》(第 571 章,附屬法例) 就核准法團為核准借出代理人發出本指引 


1. 定義

《證券及期貨條例》第 308 條、《證券及期貨條例》附表 1 及《證券借貸

規則》所定義的詞語在本指引中具有相同的涵義。除此之外: 

“大股東” (substantial shareholder) 指持有上市法團的有關股本中 5% 或以上的股份權益的人或法團;

“可供借出的股份” (lending pool) 指借出代理人代其客戶持有及可供 借出的某上市法團有關股本中的股份,及包括已借出的股份(假如 要求交還股份的權利尚未終絕的話);

“客戶” (client) 就身為借出代理人的申請人而言,指有關的主事 人,而借出代理人為該主事人借出可供借出的股份或為其持有可供 借出的股份;

“指引” (Guidelines) 指依據《證券借貸規則》第 8 條訂立的本指 引;

“借出代理人” (lending agent) 指獲授權以代理人身分為主事人借出 股份的人;

“第 XV 部” (Part XV) 指該條例第 XV 部;
“該條例” (SFO) 指《證券及期貨條例》(第 571 章);

“《證券借貸規則》” (SBL Rules) 指《證券及期貨(權益披露 — 證 券借貸)規則》 (第 571 章,附屬法例);及

“證監會” (SFC) 指證券及期貨事務監察委員會。 

2. 本核准指引的性質及目的

2.1 XV 部規定大股東必須披露其在上市法團的證券權益。向投資者 及市場披露信息是公平和有秩序的證券市場的重要基石。大股東的權益 披露是消息流通的市場的重要元素。然而,在證券借貸業中,大量的股 份借貸及交還交易均涉及同一批可供借出的股份,因而引致須就同一批 可供借出的股份的提存作出大量的信息披露,而這些信息披露對投資者 來說可能意義不大。因此,《證券借貸規則》遂設立了精簡的披露制 度,在不損害披露制度的廉潔穩健或不會削弱對投資者的保障的情況 下,將披露責任局限於證券借貸市場上若干類別的參與者。

2.2  透過核准借出代理人借出股份的大股東,如有關股份 -

(a)  是由核准借出代理人作為大股東的代理人持有的,

(b)  僅為借出的目的而非為其他目的,由該核准借出代理人作為 大股東的代理人持有;及

(c)  只使用指明的協議格式(即所定義的有關協議 1)借出,

便可獲得豁免,毋須就因以下情況而導致的權益性質改變作出披露–

(i)  將股份轉讓予核准借出代理人及獲核准借出代理人交還股份;及

(ii)  核准借出代理人借出股份及向其交還股份(《證券借貸規則》第 3 條)

2.3  獲證監會核准為核准借出代理人的法團,在從其可供借出的股份中

借出股份或獲交還有關股份時,將可獲豁免而毋須遵從其本來須遵從的 披露規定。核准借出代理人將需要披露其可供借出的股份的百分率水平 變化,但在其具報中須載有的資料數量則得以減少 (《證券借貸規則》第 4、5 6 條的聯合效應)。

扼要來說,有關協議是指就以下事項作出規定的證券借貸協議:借用人必須提供價值超過 借出股份的價值的抵押品;抵押品的價值須每日按照巿價計值,以避免出現任何短欠,及 股份借出人可於任何時間要求有關方面交還股份。

2.4 為核准借出代理人而設的精簡披露制度,將伸延至包括根據《證券 及期貨條例》第 316(2) 條被視為擁有核准借出代理人所擁有的股份權益 的該核准借出代理人的控股公司。因此,當控股公司所控制的核准借出 代理人從其可供借出的股份之中借出股份,或獲交還有關股份時,將可 獲豁免而毋須遵從其本來須遵從的披露規定。然而,《證券借貸規則》 並無豁免核准借出代理人的控股公司使其毋須承擔將其所控制的核准借 出代理人的股份權益彙總計算的責任。

2.5 採用《證券借貸規則》所指的精簡披露制度的核准借出代理人,將 要按照《證券借貸規則》第 9 條列明的規定,就若干交易備存紀錄。

賦權條文及一般資格

2.6 根據《證券借貸規則》第 8 條,證監會可應法團提出的申請,以書 面核准其作為《證券借貸規則》所指的核准借出代理人。根據第 8(1)條給 予的核准須受以下規定限制‥法團申請人須遵從《證券借貸規則》第 9 條(備存紀錄)的規定,以及證監會不時施加的合理條件。

2.7 本指引列明證監會在決定是否給予核准時會考慮到的多項準則。本 指引的內容並非巨細無遺,以及純粹旨在協助申請人了解證監會在決定 是否行使酌情權給予核准時將會考慮的事宜。如情況需要的話,本指引 可予以修改或更改。同樣地,證監會可以按照環境的改變而撤回任何已 給予的核准,或修改或更改任何附加的條件。

3. 根據《證券借貸規則》第 8 條申請核准

3.1 申請書必須提交予證監會企業融資部。 根據《證券及期貨(費用)規 則》(附表 3 20 項),申請核准為核准借出代理人的訂明費用是 24,000 元。

3.2 申請人在決定應該在申請書內加入哪些事項時,應顧及本指引。證 監會在考慮任何申請時,可要求申請人提供其認為適當的額外資料,或 會作出其認為適當的查詢。

3.3 有關的核准可能會受到證監會不時施加的合理條件所規限。 

4. 根據《證券借貸規則》第 8 條給予核准的一般準則
4.1 一般來說,除非某法團是保管人或第三者借出代理人,否則證監會

不會考慮向該法團給予核准。 

4.2 證監會在考慮是否根據《證券借貸規則》第 8(1)條核准某法團為核 准借出代理人,及是否撤回其核准時,會顧及所有相關的事實及情況, 包括以下事項:

(a)  申請人的主要業務及其所經營的其他業務;

(b)  申請人是否獲發牌在香港或以下其中一處地方進行證券交 易:澳大利亞、加拿大、法國、德國、耿濟島、愛爾蘭、萌 島、澤西島、盧森堡 、荷蘭、新加坡、瑞士、聯合王國或美 利堅合眾國;

(c)  申請人的任何客戶或獲申請人從其可借出的股份中借出股份 的人,是否申請人的控權實體或申請人的控權實體的附屬公 司,以及該等客戶在有關的借出業務中所佔的比例。

須提供予證監會的額外資料


4.3 申請人必須向證監會提供以下資料 -

(a)  申請人在可供借出的股份中所持有的每家上市法團的股份數 目的詳情;

(b)  有關人士的姓名(包括申請人的最終控股公司的名稱),而申 請人或其董事慣於按照該有關人士的指示或指令行事;

(c)  指每份客戶協議將會載有《證券借貸規則》第 3(2)(2)(a)條所 提述的條件的確認,而根據該客戶協議,申請人將會以核准 借出代理人的身分獲委任為其客戶的借出代理人;及

(d)  指申請人在借出合資格股份前將會與借用人訂立的協議的條 款,將會符合《證券借貸規則》第 2 條所指的“有關協議”的 定義的確認。 

條件

4.4  證監會將會向核准借出代理人施加以下條件:

(a)  核准借出代理人必須與其每名客戶訂立載有《證券借貸規 則》第 3(2)(2)(a) 條所提述的條件的書面協議。

(b)  在向借用人借出合資格股份前,核准借出代理人必須與該借 用人簽訂屬《證券借貸規則》第 2 條所指的有關協議的書面 協議。

(c)  核准借出代理人、申請人的控權實體及申請人的控權實體的 任何附屬公司,均不得視以下股份為《證券借貸規則》所指 的“合資格股份”:

(i)  申請人的控權實體或申請人的控權實體的任何附屬公司持有權益的股份;或

(ii)  核准借出代理人以客戶的借出代理人以外的身分而持有權益的股份。

(d)  核准借出代理人不得從其可供借出的股份中,將合資格股份 借出予以下人士:

(i)  申請人的控權實體或申請人的控權實體的任何附屬公 司;或

(ii)  核准借出代理人本人。

(e)  核准借出代理人必須通知證監會以下事項:

(i)  已提供予證監會的詳情的任何重大改變;

(ii)  假如其不再以保管人或借出代理人身分經營業務;

(iii)  假如其沒有遵從這些條件;或

(iv)  假如其沒有遵從根據《證券借貸規則》第 9 條所施加的任何規定。

4.5  證監會可不時進一步施加其認為合適的該等合理條件。借出代理人如違反向其施加的條件,其作為核准借出代理人的核准將會被撤回。

4.6 證監會將會不時在其網站內登載核准借出代理人的名單。 




免责声明 Disclaimer statement

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(简称证监会)于本网站免费提供一套繁简字体转换软件(该软件)。证监会允许本网站的使用者利用该软件将本网站内容由繁体中文版转换成为简体中文版。证监会不会就该软件欠妥之处承担任何法律责任,亦不会就其品质及性能作出任何担保;尤其是在无损前述的一般性的原则下,证监会无需就该软件对某用途的恰当性、其品质或可商售性承担任何该等明示或隐含的、法定或非法定的法律责任。

证监会明确陈述,本会并无核准或认可本网站内容的简体中文版,以及对于本网站内容的简体中文版不承担任何责任或法律责任(不论是何种及如何引致的责任或法律责任)。证监会同时明确陈述,本网站的简体中文版纯粹是利用该软件将繁体中文版内的中文字体转换成简体中文字而得来的,当中并不涉及香港特区与内地的用词及语句的对应转换。对于该简体中文版的内容的恰当性,证监会不承担任何责任或法律责任。在任何情况下,使用者都不应视本网站内容的简体中文版为其繁体中文版的对应版本。使用者应该参照该简体中文版的已发布繁体中文版来核实该简体中文版的网站内容,并且应该在依赖本网站内容的简体中文版或根据其内容行事之前,就该版本的内容的法律效力、有效性和效果自费征询独立的法律意见。

如果你将证监会网站的简体中文版的内容或网址传送予第三者,你承诺会将本免责声明同时传送予该第三者,并保证该第三者在浏览本网站的简体中文版的内容之前同意接纳本免责声明。

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) provides a character-based conversion software (this Software) free of charge in this website. Permission is granted for users to use this Software to convert the web content from traditional Chinese character version to simplified Chinese character version. The SFC undertakes no liability for defects in this Software and gives no warranty in relation to its quality and performance and in particular, but without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, the SFC shall have no such liability regarding the fitness for purpose, quality or merchantability of this Software, whether express or implied, statutory or otherwise.

The SFC expressly states that it has not approved or endorsed the simplified Chinese character version of the web content and the SFC accepts no responsibility or liability (whatsoever and howsoever caused) for such simplified Chinese character version of the web content. The SFC also expressly states that this simplified Chinese character version of the website is solely established by converting the characters in the traditional Chinese character version via this Software, which involves no corresponding conversion between the terms and expressions used in the Hong Kong SAR and Mainland China. The SFC accepts no responsibility or liability for the fitness of the content of the simplified Chinese character version. Under no circumstances should users treat the simplified Chinese character version of the web content as an equivalent of the traditional Chinese character version thereof. Users should verify the simplified Chinese character version of the web content by making reference to the published traditional Chinese character version thereof, and should at their own costs seek independent legal advice on the legal status, validity and effect of the simplified Chinese character version of the web content before relying or acting upon it.

If you transmit the content of this simplified Chinese character version website or its URL to any third party, you agree to forward this Disclaimer Statement at the same time to the third party and guarantee that the third party agrees to accept this Disclaimer Statement before browsing the content of the simplified Chinese character version of this website.

3.7911 s