Securities & Futures Commission of Hong Kong

Our role

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) is an independent statutory body set up in 1989 to regulate Hong Kong's securities and futures markets.

We derive our investigative, remedial and disciplinary powers from the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO) and subsidiary legislation. Operationally independent of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, we are funded mainly by transaction levies and licensing fees.

 

 Our mission statement 

As a financial regulator in an international financial centre, the SFC strives to strengthen and protect the integrity and soundness of Hong Kong's securities and futures markets for the benefit of investors and the industry.

 Our functions 

The SFO vested us with multiple roles. Our principal responsibilities include maintaining and promoting the fairness, efficiency, competitiveness, transparency and orderliness of the securities and futures industry. The scope of our work includes:

  • Setting and enforcing market regulations, including investigating breaches of rules and market misconduct;
  • Licensing and supervising intermediaries1 that conduct activities under the SFC's regulatory responsibility;
  • Supervising market operators, including exchanges, clearing houses, share registrars and alternative trading platforms, and helping to enhance market infrastructure;
  • Authorizing investment products and offering documents prior to their distribution to retail investors;
  • Exercising oversight of regulations governing takeovers and mergers of public companies and of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited's regulation of listing matters;
  • Cooperating with and providing assistance to local and overseas regulatory authorities; and
  • Helping investors understand market operations, the risks of investing and their rights and responsibilities2.

Our regulatory counterparts

We are one of four financial regulators in Hong Kong charged with oversight of finance and investing. The four regulators cooperate with each other to ensure proper conduct in the markets and to forestall financial crime and misconduct.

SectorRegulatorMajor functions
Banking The Hong Kong Monetary Authority Regulates financial institutions3, conducts monetary policy operations and manages the Exchange Fund
Insurance The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance Regulates insurers and insurance intermediaries
Mandatory provident fund system The Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority Regulates and supervises provident fund schemes
Securities and futures SFC Regulates the securities and futures markets

1 Such as brokers, investment advisers and fund managers.
2 Since November 2012, the SFC has delegated its investor education function to a subsidiary, the Investor Education Centre.

3 Including banks and deposit-taking companies.

 Our history 

Hong Kong's stock and commodities markets were largely unregulated until 1974 when legislation came into effect introducing a new system to govern the industry following the stock market crash of the previous year. Another market crash in 1987 resulted in the formation of the six-member Securities Review Committee, which examined Hong Kong's regulatory regime. In May 1988, the Committee recommended the establishment of a single, independent statutory body with broad investigative and disciplinary powers to regulate the markets.

The SFC was set up in May 1989 following the enactment of the Securities and Futures Commission Ordinance (SFCO), which created a new regulatory framework for Hong Kong's markets. Further steps to improve the regulatory regime were taken after the Asian Financial Crisis of 1997. Over the next few years, the SFCO and nine other securities and futures-related ordinances were consolidated into the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO), which took effect on 1 April 2003. The SFO, together with subsidiary legislation, expanded our functions and powers and enabled us to increase the scope and depth of our regulatory work.

The SFO also introduced external checks and balances through the Process Review Panel and the Securities and Futures Appeals Tribunal. These help ensure fairness in our decision making, observance of due process, and proper use of our regulatory powers. The roles of our Chairman and Chief Executive Officer were split after the enactment of the Securities and Futures (Amendment) Ordinance 2006.

In the aftermath of the Global Financial Crisis that began in 2008, regulators around the world responded with measures to overhaul the regulation of the financial system. As a member of the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) Board, we play a leading role in examining the impact of international reforms both globally and in the Asia Pacific region, and seek to identify common interests and foster cross-border collaboration.

In recent years, our collaboration with mainland China on such initiatives as the Renminbi Qualified Foreign Institutional Investor (RQFII) scheme broadened investors' product choices and strengthened Hong Kong's position as a primary offshore renminbi centre as well as a global asset management hub. In light of the introduction of Shanghai-Hong Kong Stock Connect, a pilot programme enabling mutual stock market access between the Shanghai and Hong Kong stock exchanges, we are also enhancing our collaboration with Mainland authorities on enforcement matters.

Our operations evolved over the years in response to market needs and to keep pace with global regulatory standards. Hong Kong's market capitalisation grew dramatically after the SFC's inception. The number of listed companies grew from 290 in 1989 to more than 1,700 while the number of licensees rose from about 1,900 to nearly 39,000. Growth on this scale called for more proactive oversight of corporate conduct and intermediaries, and active and open dialogue to address emerging and systemic risks.

In 2012, we set up a centralised Risk and Strategy unit to identify and evaluate significant risks facing the financial sector. In addition, we established our International and China team in the same year to facilitate cross-border and global regulatory developments and cooperation. A dedicated Corporate Regulation team was formed in 2013 to focus on listed companies' conduct and activities with an aim of promoting improved corporate behaviour and more meaningful disclosures, as well as to detect potential corporate misconduct. Our Intermediaries Supervision and Licensing departments were also combined in 2013 to create the Intermediaries Division.

Our corporate videos

These videos explain our multiple roles in a semi-documentary style and showcase how we foster market growth while ensuring a level playing field.

Inside the SFC

Play video | Duration: 8:41

Inside the SFC

An overview of what we do and how we safeguard the interests of investors while ensuring Hong Kong's spirit as a free market.

Regulation for Quality Markets

Play video | Duration: 7:03

Regulation for Quality Markets

A look at how we ensure safe and orderly markets for the stock and futures exchanges, intermediaries, and investors.

3.5111 s

證監會

監管角色

證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)於 1989 年成立,是獨立的法定機構,負責監管香港的證券及期貨市場的運作。

《證券及期貨條例》及附屬法例賦予證監會調查、糾正及紀律處分權力。本會獨立於香港特別行政區政府運作,而經費主要來自交易徵費及牌照費用。

 使命宣言 

證監會作為國際金融中心的金融監管機構,一直致力加強和維護香港證券及期貨市場的廉潔穩健,從而令投資者和業界的利益得到保障。

 本會職能 

根據《證券及期貨條例》,證監會須擔當多重角色。我們的主要職責包括維持和促進證券期貨業的公平性、效率、競爭力、透明度及秩序。我們的工作範疇包括:

  • 制定及執行市場法規,包括調查違規個案及市場失當行為;
  • 向進行受證監會規管的活動的中介人1發牌及予以監管;
  • 監察交易所、結算所、股份登記機構及另類交易平台等市場營運機構的運作,並協助優化市場基礎建設;
  • 預先審批擬向公眾發售的投資產品及其銷售文件;
  • 監督適用於公眾公司的收購合併規例,以及監察香港聯合交易所有限公司規管上市事宜的表現;
  • 與本地及海外的監管機構合作並提供支援;及
  • 協助投資者了解市場運作、投資風險及本身的權利和責任2

監管同業

證監會是香港負責監管金融及投資領域的的四家金融監管機構之一。這四家監管機構緊密合作,確保市場參與者秉持優良操守,並遏止金融罪行及失當行為。

界別

監管機構

主要職責

銀行業

香港金融管理局

監管金融機構3、進行貨幣政策的操作及管理外匯基金

保險業

保險業監理處

規管保險公司及保險中介人

強制性公積金計劃

強制性公積金計劃管理局

監管及監督公積金計劃

證券及期貨

證監會

監管證券及期貨市場

1 例如經紀行、投資顧問及基金經理。
2 自2012年11月起,證監會將投資者教育的職能轉授予附屬機構投資者教育中心。
3 包括銀行及接受存款公司。

 本會歷史  

在1974年以前,香港的證券及商品市場並未受到正式的監管。直至1973年爆發股災,政府遂於翌年制定法例,設立規管證券期貨業的新制度。1987年再次爆發股災,促使當局成立一個由六人組成的證券業檢討委員會,以深入研究香港證券業的規管制度。1988年5月,證券業檢討委員會建議成立獨立的法定機構,並賦予其廣泛的調查及紀律處分權力,以規管市場。

證監會遂於1989年5月隨著《證券及期貨事務監察委員會條例》(《證監會條例》)生效而成立。《證監會條例》制定了香港市場的新監管架構。1997年亞洲金融風暴過後,當局採取進一步措施,務求改善監管制度。隨後數年內,《證監會條例》及另外九條涉及證券及期貨的條例已合併成為《證券及期貨條例》,自2003年4月1日起生效。《證券及期貨條例》及附屬法例擴大了本會的職能及權力,讓我們能夠更深入全面地執行監管工作。

來自外間的程序覆檢委員會和證券及期貨事務上訴審裁處亦對證監會實施制衡措施。這些措施有助確保本會決策過程公平公正,符合適當程序,以及恰當地行使監管權力。自《2006年證券及期貨(修訂)條例》通過後,本會主席和行政總裁的角色已經一分為二。

2008年全球金融危機爆發,促使全球監管機構推出金融體系監管改革措施。作為國際證券事務監察委員會組織(國際證監會組織)理事會的成員,我們擔當領導角色,審視全球金融改革對國際及亞太區的影響,以及認清共同利益及加強跨境合作。

本會近年積極與中國內地合作,推出人民幣合格境外機構投資者計劃等措施,增加可供投資者選擇的產品種類及鞏固香港作為首要離岸人民幣中心及全球資產管理中心的地位。因應上海交易所與香港聯交所股票市場交易互聯互通機制試點(滬港通)的推出,我們亦正加強與內地當局的執法合作。

為回應市場需要及緊貼全球監管標準,本會的運作規模過去幾年有所擴展。自本會成立以來,香港的市值急速增長,上市公司數目由1989年的290家增加至目前超過1,700家,持牌人數目亦由約1,900名增加至近39,000名。如此大幅的增長促使我們以更主動的方式對企業操守和中介人進行監督,以及就新興和系統性風險進行積極主動、坦誠的溝通。

2012年,本會成立中央風險及策略組,目的是辨識及評估金融界面臨的重大風險。同年,本會亦成立國際及中國事務組,目的是推動跨境及全球監管發展和合作。企業規管專責小組於2013年成立,專注監督上市公司的操守和活動,其目的是要推廣良好企業行為及更具意義的企業披露,以及偵查潛在企業失當行為。證監會中介團體監察科(現稱中介機構監察科)與發牌科亦於2013年合併為中介機構部。

機構短片

以下兩輯機構短片以"模擬紀錄片"形式介紹證監會的角色和職責,突顯本會在促進市場發展的同時,亦致力確立公平的競爭環境。

 走進證監會

短片播放 | 短片長短: 8:43

走進證監會

簡介證監會的工作,說明本會在保障投資者利益的同時,亦確保香港繼續體現自由市場精神。

有序監管 優化市場

短片播放 | 短片長短: 6:57

有序監管 優化市場

探討證監會如何確保市場安全有序地運作,讓證券及期貨交易所、中介人以至投資者均從中受惠。

免责声明 Disclaimer statement

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(简称证监会)于本网站免费提供一套繁简字体转换软件(该软件)。证监会允许本网站的使用者利用该软件将本网站内容由繁体中文版转换成为简体中文版。证监会不会就该软件欠妥之处承担任何法律责任,亦不会就其品质及性能作出任何担保;尤其是在无损前述的一般性的原则下,证监会无需就该软件对某用途的恰当性、其品质或可商售性承担任何该等明示或隐含的、法定或非法定的法律责任。

证监会明确陈述,本会并无核准或认可本网站内容的简体中文版,以及对于本网站内容的简体中文版不承担任何责任或法律责任(不论是何种及如何引致的责任或法律责任)。证监会同时明确陈述,本网站的简体中文版纯粹是利用该软件将繁体中文版内的中文字体转换成简体中文字而得来的,当中并不涉及香港特区与内地的用词及语句的对应转换。对于该简体中文版的内容的恰当性,证监会不承担任何责任或法律责任。在任何情况下,使用者都不应视本网站内容的简体中文版为其繁体中文版的对应版本。使用者应该参照该简体中文版的已发布繁体中文版来核实该简体中文版的网站内容,并且应该在依赖本网站内容的简体中文版或根据其内容行事之前,就该版本的内容的法律效力、有效性和效果自费征询独立的法律意见。

如果你将证监会网站的简体中文版的内容或网址传送予第三者,你承诺会将本免责声明同时传送予该第三者,并保证该第三者在浏览本网站的简体中文版的内容之前同意接纳本免责声明。

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) provides a character-based conversion software (this Software) free of charge in this website. Permission is granted for users to use this Software to convert the web content from traditional Chinese character version to simplified Chinese character version. The SFC undertakes no liability for defects in this Software and gives no warranty in relation to its quality and performance and in particular, but without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, the SFC shall have no such liability regarding the fitness for purpose, quality or merchantability of this Software, whether express or implied, statutory or otherwise.

The SFC expressly states that it has not approved or endorsed the simplified Chinese character version of the web content and the SFC accepts no responsibility or liability (whatsoever and howsoever caused) for such simplified Chinese character version of the web content. The SFC also expressly states that this simplified Chinese character version of the website is solely established by converting the characters in the traditional Chinese character version via this Software, which involves no corresponding conversion between the terms and expressions used in the Hong Kong SAR and Mainland China. The SFC accepts no responsibility or liability for the fitness of the content of the simplified Chinese character version. Under no circumstances should users treat the simplified Chinese character version of the web content as an equivalent of the traditional Chinese character version thereof. Users should verify the simplified Chinese character version of the web content by making reference to the published traditional Chinese character version thereof, and should at their own costs seek independent legal advice on the legal status, validity and effect of the simplified Chinese character version of the web content before relying or acting upon it.

If you transmit the content of this simplified Chinese character version website or its URL to any third party, you agree to forward this Disclaimer Statement at the same time to the third party and guarantee that the third party agrees to accept this Disclaimer Statement before browsing the content of the simplified Chinese character version of this website.

3.4063 s