Securities & Futures Commission of Hong Kong

Due Diligence on Eligible GEM Transfer Applications

This FAQ is issued in conjunction with amendments to the Main Board and GEM Listing Rules published by The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited on 15 December 2017. This FAQ aims to provide guidance on the application of paragraph 17 of the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the SFC as regards transfer applications made during the three-year transitional period from 15 February 2018 by an Eligible Issuer[1] which did not change its principal activities and controlling shareholders since listing on GEM.

[1] All issuers listed on GEM and all GEM applicants who have submitted a valid listing application on GEM (and subsequently listed on GEM) on or prior to 16 June 2017

Q1:
On 15 December 2017, HKEX published the Consultation Conclusions on the Review of the Growth Enterprise Market (GEM) and Changes to the GEM and Main Board Listing Rules (GEM Consultation Conclusions). The amendments to the Listing Rules provide, among other things, for transitional arrangements[1] in respect of GEM transfer applications that are submitted during a period of three years from 15 February 2018 by Eligible Issuers[2]. Where an Eligible Issuer that did not change its principal businesses and controlling shareholders since listing on GEM submits a transfer application (Eligible GEM Transfer Application[3]), the Eligible Issuer will only need to:
  1. prepare an announcement regarding its Eligible GEM Transfer Application  (GEM Transfer Announcement) that provides investors with a concise update of the Eligible Issuer’s affairs during the most recent full financial year and up to the date of the GEM Transfer Announcement (Relevant Period); and
  2. appoint a sponsor to conduct due diligence in respect of the Eligible Issuer’s activities during the Relevant Period to ensure that the information in the GEM Transfer Announcement is accurate, complete and not misleading.

How do the provisions of paragraph 17 of the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission (Code of Conduct) apply to the sponsor in connection with the Eligible GEM Transfer Application?

[1] See Chapter 4 of the GEM Consultation Conclusions
[2] All issuers listed on GEM and all GEM applicants who have submitted a valid listing application for listing on GEM (and successfully listed on GEM subsequently with only one refreshed application permitted) on or prior to 16 June 2017
[3] See paragraphs 144(b) and 147 of the GEM Consultation Conclusions

 

 

A:

The sponsor is expected to conduct due diligence in accordance with the standards set out in paragraph 17 of the Code of Conduct. This includes due diligence to ensure that the Eligible Issuer complies with all applicable listing qualifications for listing on the Main Board.  As the Eligible Issuer is not required to publish a listing document in connection with the Eligible GEM Transfer Application and no public offer is involved, the provisions of paragraph 17 referring to the preparation of a listing document, application proof, the contents of a listing document, expert reports, and a public offer will not apply.

Set out below is a summary of the provisions of paragraph 17 that apply to an Eligible GEM Transfer Application followed by a summary of those provisions that do not apply: 

  1. Provisions relating to the following matters will continue to apply:
    1. understanding and advising a listing applicant (paragraph 17.3)
    2. work required before submitting a listing application (paragraph 17.4 (a), (c) and (d))
    3. principles of reasonable judgement, professional scepticism, appropriate verification (paragraph 17.6 (a) – (c))
    4. independent due diligence steps, interview practices and seeking assistance from third parties where necessary as part of its due diligence (paragraph 17.6 (e) – (g))
    5. management discussion and analysis of financial information and condition (paragraph 17.8)
    6. communications with the regulators (paragraph 17.9)
    7. proper records (paragraph 17.10)
    8. resources, systems and controls (paragraph 17.11)
    9. annual assessment of systems and controls (paragraph 17.12)


    Explanatory notes to paragraphs 17.4 and 17.6:

      1. The sponsor is expected to be closely involved in the preparation of the GEM Transfer Announcement that provides investors with a concise update of the Eligible Issuer’s affairs during the Relevant Period. In this regard, the sponsor is required to perform due diligence on the Eligible Issuer’s activities (including events, transactions, undertakings, appointments, etc.) during the Relevant Period.

      2. As each Eligible Issuer is different, specific due diligence steps necessary for the purposes of an Eligible GEM Transfer Application depend on the particular facts and circumstances. In general, a sponsor is not expected to go beyond the Relevant Period when conducting due diligence under paragraphs 17.4 and 17.6 of the Code of Conduct. In relation to an Eligible Issuer’s activities in prior periods, a sponsor can reasonably rely on the historical disclosures made by the Eligible Issuer in its announcements and corporate communication materials up to and immediately before the most recent full financial year (“historical disclosures”). For example,
        • interviews are conducted with major stakeholders (such as customers, suppliers, creditors and bankers) with whom the Eligible Issuer has undertaken activities and/or transactions during the Relevant Period;
        • background checks are required on directors appointed during the Relevant Period (but not all directors); and
        • where an Eligible Issuer is a property developer or property investment company, it would not normally be necessary to verify titles on properties acquired before the Relevant Period.
      3. Notwithstanding (ii), a sponsor should exercise independent judgement and professional skepticism in the course of the due diligence process. If a sponsor becomes aware of any matters which would cast doubt on the accuracy of any historical disclosures, it must perform such further steps as are necessary to satisfy itself that the concerns are resolved; these may involve investigation of matters that took place prior to the Relevant Period.

  2. Provisions relating to the following matters will not apply:
    1. preparation and contents of an application proof (paragraph 17.4 (b))
    2. preparation and contents of a listing document (paragraph 17.5 and 17.6 (d))
    3. due diligence on expert reports (paragraph 17.7)
    4. overall management of a public offer (paragraph 17.13)
    5. information provided to analysts in new listings (paragraph 17.14)

If the sponsor or the Eligible Issuer is in doubt about the requirements in respect of the Eligible GEM Transfer Application, it should consult the Stock Exchange or the SFC in advance.

Eligible Issuers are reminded to appoint sponsors at least two months before the submission of their Eligible GEM Transfer Applications.

 

3.2725 s

證監會

對合資格創業板轉板申請的盡職審查

本《常見問題》是因應香港聯合交易所有限公司於2017年12月15日發表的主板及創業板上市規則的修訂而發出。本《常見問題》旨在就《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》第17段如何適用於自2018年2月15日起計的三年過渡期間內由在創業板上市後主營業務及控股股東沒有任何變更的合資格發行人[1]提交的轉板申請提供指引。

[1] 2017年6月16日或之前已在創業板上市的所有發行人及已提交有效的創業板上市申請(且其後成功在創業板上市)的所有創業板申請人


問1:

香港交易所在2017年12月15日發表《有關檢討創業板及修訂〈創業板規則〉及〈主板規則〉的諮詢總結》(《創業板諮詢總結》)。《上市規則》的修訂就(除其他事項外)過渡安排[1]作出規定,有關安排適用於由合資格發行人[2]自2018年2月15日起計三年期間內提交的創業板轉板申請。若在創業板上市後主營業務及控股股東沒有任何變更的合資格發行人提交轉板申請(合資格創業板轉板申請[3]),該合資格發行人只需:

  1. 就其合資格創業板轉板申請編製一份公告(創業板轉板公告),向投資者提供有關合資格發行人最近一個完整財政年度及其後直至創業板轉板公告日期期間(有關期間)的最新狀況的精準資料;及

  2. 委任保薦人對合資格發行人在有關期間內的業務活動進行盡職審查,以確保創業板轉板公告的資料準確完備且並無誤導。

《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》(《操守準則》)第17段的條文如何適用於與合資格創業板轉板申請有關的保薦人?

[1] 見《創業板諮詢總結》第
[2] 2017年6月16日或之前已在創業板上市的所有發行人及已提交有效的創業板上市申請(且其後成功在創業板上市及其上市申請只可更新一次)的所有創業板申請人。
[3] 見《創業板諮詢總結》第144(b)及147段。

答:

保薦人應根據《操守準則》第17段所載的標準進行盡職審查,當中包括為確保合資格發行人符合在主板上市的所有適用上市資格而進行的盡職審查。由於合資格發行人無須就合資格創業板轉板申請刊發上市文件,亦不涉及公開發售,故第17段所提述有關編製上市文件、申請版本、上市文件的內容、專家報告及公開發售的條文將不會適用。

以下為適用於合資格創業板轉板申請的第17段條文的概要,隨後為不適用的條文的概要:

  1. 與以下事項有關的條文將繼續適用:
    1. 瞭解上市申請人及向其提供意見(第17.3段)
    2. 呈交上市申請前須進行的工作(第17.4 (a)、(c)及(d)段)
    3. 有關合理判斷、專業的懷疑態度及適當的核實的原則(第17.6 (a)至(c)段)
    4. 獨立的盡職審查步驟、會見常規及在有需要時向第三方尋求協助,作為其盡職審查的一部分(第17.6(e)至(g)段)
    5. 管理層對財務資料及狀況的討論及分析(第17.8段)
    6. 與監管機構的溝通(第17.9段)
    7. 妥善紀錄(第17.10段)
    8. 資源、系統及監控措施(第17.11段)
    9. 系統及監控措施的年度評估(第17.12段)
       
      第17.4及17.6段的註釋:

      1. 保薦人應密切參與編製創業板轉板公告,向投資者提供有關合資格發行人在有關期間內的最新狀況的精準資料。就此而言,保薦人須就合資格發行人在有關期間內的活動(包括事件、交易、承諾、委任等)進行盡職審查。

      2. 由於合資格發行人的情況各有不同,合資格創業板轉板申請所需要的具體盡職審查步驟取決於特定事實及情況而定。一般而言,保薦人根據《操守準則》第17.4及17.6段進行的盡職審查所覆蓋的時期無須超越有關期間。關於合資格發行人在先前的期間內的活動,保薦人可合理地依賴合資格發行人在截至及緊接最近一個完整財政年度前的公告及企業通訊材料內作出的歷史披露(“歷史披露”)。舉例來說,
        • 會見在有關期間內合資格發行人曾經與其進行活動及/或交易的主要持份者(例如客戶、供應商、債權人及銀行);
        • 須對在有關期間內獲委任的董事(但非所有董事)進行背景調查;及
        • 若合資格發行人是地產發展商或地產投資公司,通常無須核實在有關期間前取得的地產項目的業權。
      3. 儘管第(ii)項另有規定,保薦人應在盡職審查過程中行使獨立判斷及秉持專業的懷疑態度。若保薦人得悉任何事項會令任何歷史披露的準確性受到質疑,該保薦人必須採取其他必要的步驟,以令其本身信納有關關注事項已經解決;該等步驟可能涉及對在有關期間前發生的事項進行調查。

  2. 與以下事項有關的條文將不會適用:
    1. 編製申請版本及其內容(第17.4 (b)段)
    2. 編製上市文件及其內容(第17.5及17.6 (d)段)
    3. 對專家報告的盡職審查(第17.7段)
    4. 公開發售的全盤管理(第17.13段)
    5. 在新上市過程中向分析員提供的資料(第17.14段)

若保薦人或合資格發行人對合資格創業板轉板申請的要求有疑問,應事先諮詢聯交所或證監會的意見。

合資格發行人應在提交合資格創業板轉板申請前至少兩個月委任保薦人。

免责声明 Disclaimer statement

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(简称证监会)于本网站免费提供一套繁简字体转换软件(该软件)。证监会允许本网站的使用者利用该软件将本网站内容由繁体中文版转换成为简体中文版。证监会不会就该软件欠妥之处承担任何法律责任,亦不会就其品质及性能作出任何担保;尤其是在无损前述的一般性的原则下,证监会无需就该软件对某用途的恰当性、其品质或可商售性承担任何该等明示或隐含的、法定或非法定的法律责任。

证监会明确陈述,本会并无核准或认可本网站内容的简体中文版,以及对于本网站内容的简体中文版不承担任何责任或法律责任(不论是何种及如何引致的责任或法律责任)。证监会同时明确陈述,本网站的简体中文版纯粹是利用该软件将繁体中文版内的中文字体转换成简体中文字而得来的,当中并不涉及香港特区与内地的用词及语句的对应转换。对于该简体中文版的内容的恰当性,证监会不承担任何责任或法律责任。在任何情况下,使用者都不应视本网站内容的简体中文版为其繁体中文版的对应版本。使用者应该参照该简体中文版的已发布繁体中文版来核实该简体中文版的网站内容,并且应该在依赖本网站内容的简体中文版或根据其内容行事之前,就该版本的内容的法律效力、有效性和效果自费征询独立的法律意见。

如果你将证监会网站的简体中文版的内容或网址传送予第三者,你承诺会将本免责声明同时传送予该第三者,并保证该第三者在浏览本网站的简体中文版的内容之前同意接纳本免责声明。

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) provides a character-based conversion software (this Software) free of charge in this website. Permission is granted for users to use this Software to convert the web content from traditional Chinese character version to simplified Chinese character version. The SFC undertakes no liability for defects in this Software and gives no warranty in relation to its quality and performance and in particular, but without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, the SFC shall have no such liability regarding the fitness for purpose, quality or merchantability of this Software, whether express or implied, statutory or otherwise.

The SFC expressly states that it has not approved or endorsed the simplified Chinese character version of the web content and the SFC accepts no responsibility or liability (whatsoever and howsoever caused) for such simplified Chinese character version of the web content. The SFC also expressly states that this simplified Chinese character version of the website is solely established by converting the characters in the traditional Chinese character version via this Software, which involves no corresponding conversion between the terms and expressions used in the Hong Kong SAR and Mainland China. The SFC accepts no responsibility or liability for the fitness of the content of the simplified Chinese character version. Under no circumstances should users treat the simplified Chinese character version of the web content as an equivalent of the traditional Chinese character version thereof. Users should verify the simplified Chinese character version of the web content by making reference to the published traditional Chinese character version thereof, and should at their own costs seek independent legal advice on the legal status, validity and effect of the simplified Chinese character version of the web content before relying or acting upon it.

If you transmit the content of this simplified Chinese character version website or its URL to any third party, you agree to forward this Disclaimer Statement at the same time to the third party and guarantee that the third party agrees to accept this Disclaimer Statement before browsing the content of the simplified Chinese character version of this website.

3.2500 s