Companies entering the industry for the purposes of managing real estate investment trusts (REITs)
(Q1, Q2, Q4, Q5 and Q7 were updated on 26 January 2022)
(Q3, Q6, Q8, Q9 and Q10 were superseded since 26 January 2022)

Q1 : Does a REIT management company need to obtain a licence from the SFC?

A:

A REIT management company is required to be licensed for Type 9 regulated activity (asset management). Whether it needs to be licensed for other type(s) of regulated activity depends on its business scope and mode of operation. For instance, if the management company also undertakes matters in relation to the listing application of the scheme itself (without appointing a listing agent), the company will need to be licensed for Type 6 regulated activity (advising on corporate finance), or if the company also involves in distributing REITs or other securities, it will need to be licensed for Type 1 regulated activity (dealing in securities) in addition to Type 9.

For property developer intending to engage in REITs management business, it is suggested that it establishes a new company to carry out the proposed business. The new company shall be either incorporated in Hong Kong or an overseas company registered with the Companies Registry of Hong Kong.

For further information about the licensing requirements and procedures, please refer to the Licensing Handbook published by the SFC.

Q2 : What form of business structure is preferable for a REITs management company set up by a property developer?

A:

To obtain a licence, the new company should have proper business structure, adequate internal control systems and qualified personnel to ensure the proper management of the proposed business. For more information, please refer to the following publications issued by the SFC:-

  • Code on Real Estate Investment Trusts;
  • Management, Supervision and Internal Control Guidelines for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the SFC;
  • Guidelines on Competence;
  • Fund Manager Code of Conduct;
  • Corporate Finance Adviser Code of Conduct; and
  • Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the SFC.

It is expected that the new company engages professional services in setting up the business and it shall appoint qualified management personnel, including its responsible officers and Managers-In-Charge of Core Functions (see SFC's circular regarding Measures for Augmenting the Accountability of Senior Management dated 16 December 2016) to oversee the entire process.  Such personnel should be familiar with the local regulatory framework, the fund management industry and able to oversee issues arising out of the listing of the REIT concerned and the property management team.

Such listing matters and the day to day property management functions can be either carried out by the new company internally or delegated to external parties.

Q3 : Superseded since 26 January 2022

A:

Q4 : What experience is expected of an individual proposed to become a responsible officer of a REIT management company?

A:

In addition to the general competence requirements (see paragraph 4.2 of the Guidelines on Competence), the individual should possess at least 5 years’ track record in investment management and/or property portfolio management.

Q5 : Is it necessary that all directors of a REIT management company be approved as responsible officers by the SFC?

A:

Only executive directors as defined under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (see the next paragraph) are required to be approved as responsible officers of the company.  However, the company should have at least one responsible officer being an executive director of the company.

“Executive director”, in relation to a licensed corporation, means a director of the corporation who -

  1. actively participates in; or
  2. is responsible for directly supervising,

the business of a regulated activity for which the corporation is licensed.

Q6 : Superseded since 26 January 2022

A:

Q7 : Will the SFC impose any licensing condition on a new company set up to become a REIT management company?

A:

For a new company set up solely for managing REITs, the SFC is likely to impose a licensing condition to confine its business activity to REITs management only.  In other words, the company would not be allowed to carry out any other business activities. 

Q8 : Superseded since 26 January 2022

A:

Q9 : Superseded since 26 January 2022

A:

Q10 : Superseded since 26 January 2022

A:

Last update: 26 Jan 2022

We use cookies to improve the website performance and user experience. If you continue to use this website, you are agreeing to their uses. Learn more about our privacy policy.

為管理房地產投資信託基金的目的而加入有關行業的公司
(問1、 問2、問4、問5及問7於2022年1月26日更新)
(問3、問6、問8、問9及問10於2022年1月26日起被取代)

問1 : 房地產投資信託基金的管理公司是否需要獲得證監會發出的牌照?

答:

房地產投資信託基金的管理公司需要就第9類受規管活動(資產管理)獲發牌照。至於該公司是否需要就其他類別的受規管活動獲發牌照,則視乎其業務範圍及運作模式而定。例如,若管理公司亦同時從事與該計劃的上市申請有關的事宜(而並非委任上市代理人),該公司將需要就第6類受規管活動(就機構融資提供意見)獲發牌照;或若該公司同時涉及分銷房地產投資信託基金或其他證券,則其除需要就第9類受規管活動獲發牌照外,亦將需要就第1類受規管活動(證券交易)獲發牌照。

對於有意從事房地產投資信託基金管理業務的地產發展商,證監會建議有關發展商成立新公司來進行有關的建議業務。該新公司必須在香港註冊成立或為已經在香港公司註冊處註冊的海外公司。

請參閱證監會刋發的《發牌手冊》,以獲取更多關於發牌要求和程序的資料。

問2 : 地產發展商成立的房地產投資信託基金管理公司適宜採用哪種業務架構?

答:

要取得有關牌照,該新公司必須擁有適當的業務架構、足夠的內部監控制度及合資格的人員,以確保擬進行的業務獲得適當管理。如欲索取更多有關資料,可參閱證監會發出的下列刊物:-

  • 《房地產投資信託基金守則》;
  • 《適用於證監會持牌人或註冊人的管理、監督及內部監控指引》;
  • 《勝任能力的指引》;
  • 《基金經理操守準則》;
  • 《企業融資顧問操守準則》;及
  • 《證監會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》。

證監會預料該新公司在成立有關業務時,會聘用專業服務及其必須委任合資格的管理人員(包括其負責人員及其核心職能主管(參閱證監會於2016年12月16日發出有關加强高級管理層問責性的措施的通函),以監督整個程序)。有關人員必須熟悉本地監管架構及基金管理業,以及能夠監督由於將有關房地產投資信託基金上市而引發出的事項及有關的物業管理隊伍。

該等上市事項及日常的物業管理職能可以由該公司內部處理或轉授予外間的公司處理。

問3 : 於2022年1月26日起被取代

答:  

問4 : 擬成為房地產投資信託基金管理公司負責人員的個別人士應具備哪些經驗?

答:

除了須符合一般有關勝任能力的規定外(見《勝任能力的指引》第4.2段),個別人士必須具備最少5 年投資管理及/或物業投資組合管理的可追溯的記錄 。

問5 : 是否所有房地產投資信託基金管理公司的董事都需要獲證監會認可為負責人員?

答:

只有根據《證券及期貨條例》下界定的執行董事(見下段),才需要獲認可為有關公司的負責人員。然而,在有關公司的負責人員當中,必須最少有1名為該公司的執行董事。

就持牌法團而言,“執行董事”指該法團的董事,而該董事–

  1. 積極參與;或
  2. 負責直接監督

該法團獲發牌照進行的受規管活動的業務。

問6 : 於2022年1月26日起被取代

答:  

問7 : 證監會會否對為出任房地產投資信託基金的管理公司而成立的新公司施加任何發牌條件?

答:

對於成立目的純粹在於管理房地產投資信託基金的新公司,證監會多數會施加一項發牌條件,將其業務活動限制於管理房地產投資信託基金。換句話說,有關公司將不會獲准進行任何其他業務活動。

問8 : 於2022年1月26日起被取代

答:  

問9 : 於2022年1月26日起被取代

答:  

問10 : 於2022年1月26日起被取代

答:  

最後更新日期: 2022年1月26日

我們使用cookies來改善網站性能和用戶體驗。如果你繼續使用本網站及相關服務,則表示你同意其使用。詳細了解我們的隱私政策聲明
免责声明 Disclaimer statement

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(简称证监会)于本网站免费提供一套繁简字体转换软件(该软件)。证监会允许本网站的使用者利用该软件将本网站内容由繁体中文版转换成为简体中文版。证监会不会就该软件欠妥之处承担任何法律责任,亦不会就其品质及性能作出任何担保;尤其是在无损前述的一般性的原则下,证监会无需就该软件对某用途的恰当性、其品质或可商售性承担任何该等明示或隐含的、法定或非法定的法律责任。

证监会明确陈述,本会并无核准或认可本网站内容的简体中文版,以及对于本网站内容的简体中文版不承担任何责任或法律责任(不论是何种及如何引致的责任或法律责任)。证监会同时明确陈述,本网站的简体中文版纯粹是利用该软件将繁体中文版内的中文字体转换成简体中文字而得来的,当中并不涉及香港特区与内地的用词及语句的对应转换。对于该简体中文版的内容的恰当性,证监会不承担任何责任或法律责任。在任何情况下,使用者都不应视本网站内容的简体中文版为其繁体中文版的对应版本。使用者应该参照该简体中文版的已发布繁体中文版来核实该简体中文版的网站内容,并且应该在依赖本网站内容的简体中文版或根据其内容行事之前,就该版本的内容的法律效力、有效性和效果自费征询独立的法律意见。

如果你将证监会网站的简体中文版的内容或网址传送予第三者,你承诺会将本免责声明同时传送予该第三者,并保证该第三者在浏览本网站的简体中文版的内容之前同意接纳本免责声明。

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) provides a character-based conversion software (this Software) free of charge in this website. Permission is granted for users to use this Software to convert the web content from traditional Chinese character version to simplified Chinese character version. The SFC undertakes no liability for defects in this Software and gives no warranty in relation to its quality and performance and in particular, but without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, the SFC shall have no such liability regarding the fitness for purpose, quality or merchantability of this Software, whether express or implied, statutory or otherwise.

The SFC expressly states that it has not approved or endorsed the simplified Chinese character version of the web content and the SFC accepts no responsibility or liability (whatsoever and howsoever caused) for such simplified Chinese character version of the web content. The SFC also expressly states that this simplified Chinese character version of the website is solely established by converting the characters in the traditional Chinese character version via this Software, which involves no corresponding conversion between the terms and expressions used in the Hong Kong SAR and Mainland China. The SFC accepts no responsibility or liability for the fitness of the content of the simplified Chinese character version. Under no circumstances should users treat the simplified Chinese character version of the web content as an equivalent of the traditional Chinese character version thereof. Users should verify the simplified Chinese character version of the web content by making reference to the published traditional Chinese character version thereof, and should at their own costs seek independent legal advice on the legal status, validity and effect of the simplified Chinese character version of the web content before relying or acting upon it.

If you transmit the content of this simplified Chinese character version website or its URL to any third party, you agree to forward this Disclaimer Statement at the same time to the third party and guarantee that the third party agrees to accept this Disclaimer Statement before browsing the content of the simplified Chinese character version of this website.