Competence requirements for individuals

For the purposes of these FAQs, where references to “corporation” are made, the term covers “registered institution”; similarly, where references to “responsible officer” are made, the term covers “executive officer” of a registered institution, references to the term “licensed representative” covers “relevant individual” of a registered institution.

 
(Q1 to Q5, Q7, Q9, Q11 and Q13 were either obsolete or elaborated in the Guidelines on Competence1 and removed on 26 January 2022)
(Q6, Q8, Q10 and Q12 were updated on 26 January 2022)
(Q14 to Q16 were added on 26 January 2022)

Q1 : FAQ removed on 26 January 2022

A:

 

Q2 : FAQ removed on 26 January 2022

A:

 

Q3 : FAQ removed on 26 January 2022

A:

 

Q4 : FAQ removed on 26 January 2022

A:

 

Q5 : FAQ removed on 26 January 2022

A:

 

Q6 : Regarding the exemption criteria as set out in paragraph 4.4.3.2 of the Guidelines on Competence, to what extent will an applicant’s activities be considered as “limited scope”?

A:

Examples of applicants’ involvement in “limited scope of activities” include:

  1. Regional Research Head coming to Hong Kong occasionally and is accompanied by other local licensed staff in client meetings, or 
  2. persons only providing technical advice to clients on the structuring of corporate finance deals.

The above examples are not intended to be exhaustive.

Q7 : FAQ removed on 26 January 2022

A:

 

Q8 : Referring to the re-entrant exemption in paragraph 4.4.4 of the Guidelines on Competence, how many CPT2 hours does a former practitioner who had left the industry for four years and two months need to take before the former practitioner is eligible for this exemption?

A:

The requirement is five CPT hours per regulated activity for each year of absence. In this case, the former practitioner would have to complete 25 CPT hours for each applicable regulated activity (any fraction of a year would be rounded up for this purpose). The former practitioner should complete the required 25 CPT hours before lodging the application.

Q9 : FAQ removed on 26 January 2022

A:

 

Q10 : What types of CPT would be relevant for the exemptions as set out in paragraph 4.4.2 and 4.4.3 of the Guidelines on Competence? When should the applicant complete the additional CPT hours and what are the consequences if the applicant fails to do so?

A:
To be eligible for the RIQ3 exemptions in paragraph 4.4.2 of the Guidelines on Competence, the additional CPT hours to be taken should be in industry or product knowledge in respect of the regulated activity applied for. 
 
To be eligible for the LRP4 exemptions in paragraph 4.4.3 of the Guidelines on Competence, the additional CPT hours to be taken should be in local regulatory knowledge in respect of the regulated activity applied for.
 
The additional CPT hours may either be taken: (1) within 6 months preceding the application, or (2) within 12 months after the approval is granted. For (1), both the applicant and the sponsoring corporation should provide confirmation that the applicant has already completed the required CPT hours; for (2), both the applicant and the sponsoring corporation should provide undertakings to this effect. 
 
If the applicant fails to complete the additional CPT hours as required, the fitness and properness of both the sponsoring corporation and the applicant may be impugned, and the applicant’s licensing status may be adversely affected.

Q11 : FAQ removed on 26 January 2022

A:

 

Q12 : An applicant is currently licensed for Type 1 regulated activity. The applicant took HKSI5 LE6 Paper 1 before being licensed 4 years ago. Will the applicant be required to re-take Paper 1 before applying to additionally engage in Type 2 regulated activity?

A:

To apply for another type of regulated activity, the applicant should have passed the LRPs required for the new type of regulated activity.

Generally, applicants should pass the LRPs within three years preceding the application (see paragraph 4.1.5 of the Guidelines on Competence). However, the SFC may also recognise LRPs obtained more than three years ago if the applicant is a current licensee or has been licensed by the SFC within the past three years (see paragraph 4.1.6 of the Guidelines on Competence). In the above example, the applicant will not be required to re-take HKSI LE Paper 1 even if the exam was taken more than three years ago.

In the event that the applicant has never passed the LRPs required for the new type of regulated activity (e.g. the applicant was migrated to the Securities and Futures Ordinance regime by way of transitional arrangements and has never attempted HKSI LE Paper 1), the applicant will not be eligible for an LRP full exemption, but may apply for an appropriate conditional exemption (e.g. LRP Conditional Exemption 6 under paragraph 4.4.3.7 of the Guidelines on Competence) if the relevant eligibility criteria is satisfied.

Q13 : FAQ removed on 26 January 2022

A:

 

Q14 : An applicant was last licensed on 30 June 2020 under Option 3 of the Guidelines on Competence (March 2003 version) and has left the industry since then. The applicant now rejoins the industry and applies for a new licence. Will the applicant be required to meet the academic qualification requirements under the Guidelines on Competence?

A:
No. Applicants who previously qualify under Option 3 and have been a licensee before 1 January 2022 may be grandfathered under paragraph 4.2.1.3 (for RO7) or 4.3.1.3 (for LR8) of the Guidelines on Competence, provided that they satisfy the other competence requirements stated therein, such as having recent and relevant industry experience, and meeting the RIQ and LRP requirements as applicable. 
 
The grandfathering arrangement would also apply to situations where these applicants apply for addition of regulated activity or approval as RO.

Q15 : Under paragraph 4.1.10 of the Guidelines on Competence, the SFC may consider an applicant’s overall career history within the industry in totality. Does this mean an applicant need not accumulate industry experience within the period prescribed in paragraph 4.2.1.2 (for RO) or 4.3.1.2 (for LR)?

A:
“Recency” is a key element to demonstrate that an applicant is on top of market developments and familiar with the regulatory landscape. While we may consider an applicant’s overall career history within the industry in totality on a case-by-case basis as mentioned in paragraphs 4.1.10 and 4.1.11 of the Guidelines on Competence, this approach mainly covers dated experience for applicants who cannot entirely satisfy the recency test.
 
For example, if an applicant will be assuming the role of the Manager-In-Charge of the Overall Management Oversight function and has not accumulated sufficient relevant industry experience entirely within the prescribed period, we will holistically take into account how the dated experience is relevant to the applicant’s proposed duties, and whether, for example, sufficient infrastructure and human resources are available to the applicant’s proposed accredited principal. If we accept the relevancy of the dated experience, the applicant may be granted a licence subject to licensing conditions.

Q16 : What kind of “management experience” would the SFC consider as relevant for an RO application?

A:

We consider that “management experience” should refer to the hands-on experience in supervising and managing essential regulated functions or projects in a business setting, including the management of staff engaging in these functions or projects.

This may include –

  1. experience as senior management (e.g. Chief Executive, Business Head or Chief Operating Officer) of a licensed corporation, registered institution or a corporation within the financial industry supervising the performance of regulated activities or financial services;
  2. experience in supervising an investment team in the performance of an investment function, whether regulated or not; or
  3. experience acquired from managing another type of regulated activity.

The above examples are not intended to be exhaustive.

1 “Guidelines on Competence” means Guidelines on Competence (January 2022 version).

2 “CPT” means continuous professional training.

3 “RIQ” means recognised industry qualification.

4 “LRP” means local regulatory framework paper.

5 “HKSI” means Hong Kong Securities and Investment Institute.

6 “LE” means Licensing Examination for Securities and Futures Intermediaries.

7 “RO” means responsible officer.

8 “LR” means licensed representative.

Last update: 26 Jan 2022

We use cookies to improve the website performance and user experience. If you continue to use this website, you are agreeing to their uses. Learn more about our privacy policy.

個人勝任能力規定

就本常見問題而,對 “持牌法團” 的提述涵蓋 “註冊機構”;同樣,對 “負責人員” 的提述涵蓋註冊機構的 “主管人員”;對 “持牌代表” 的提述則涵蓋註冊機構的 “有關人士”

 
(問1至5、問7、問9、問11及問13已經過時或已於《勝任能力的指引》1 加以闡述,並於2022年1月26日被刪除)
(問6、問8、問10及問12於2022年1月26日更新)
(問14至16於2022年1月26日新增)

問1 : 此常見問題已於2022年1月26日刪除

答:

 

問2 :
此常見問題已於2022年1月26日刪除 

答:
 

問3 : 此常見問題已於2022年1月26日刪除

答:
 

問4 : 此常見問題已於2022年1月26日刪除 

答:  

問5 : 此常見問題已於2022年1月26日刪除

答:

 

問6 : 關於《勝任能力的指引》第4.4.3.2段載列的豁免準則,在甚麼情況下申請人的活動才會被視為屬 “有限範圍”?

答:

申請人涉及 “有限範圍的活動” 的例子包括:

  1. 區域研究主管偶然到訪香港並在其他本地的持牌職員的陪同下出席客戶會議,或
  2. 僅就機構融資交易的結構安排向客戶提供技術性意見的人士。

以上例子並非鉅細無遺。

問7 :
此常見問題已於2022年1月26日刪除 

答:
 

問8 :
關於《勝任能力的指引》第4.4.4段重新入行人士的豁免,一名離開業界年兩個月的前從業員需要參加多少小時的持續培訓,才可以符合此項豁免的資格?

答:

有關規定是從業員需要就離開業界的每一年及每項受規管活動,接受5小時的持續培訓。在上述個案中,該名前從業員需要就每項適用的受規管活動完成25小時的持續培訓時數(就此而言,任何不足一年的時間亦會被當作一年計算)。該前從業員應在提出申請前完成所需的25小時持續培訓。 

問9 :
此常見問題已於2022年1月26日刪除 

答:  

問10 :
哪一類持續培訓適用於《勝任能力的指引》第4.4.2段及第4.4.3段載列的豁免?申請人應在何時完成該等額外持續培訓?申請人如未能按照規定完成額外持續培訓時數將帶來甚麼後果?

答:

額外持續培訓時數必須與所申請的受規管活動的行業或產品知相關,才可以符合《勝任能力的指引》第4.4.2認可行業資格的豁免。

額外持續培訓時數必須與所申請的受規管活動的本地監管知相關,才可以符合《勝任能力的指引》第4.4.3本地監管架構考的豁免。

申請人可以在 (1) 提出申請前六個月內,或 (2) 獲授予有關批准後12個月內,完成該等額外持續培訓時數。 (1) 而言,申請人及保薦法團均應作出確認,表明申請人已完成所需的持續培訓時數; (2) 而言,申請人及保薦法團均應就此作出承諾。

假如申請人未能按照規定完成額外持續培訓時數,保薦法團及申請人的適當人選資格均可能會受到質疑,而申請人的持牌資格可能會受到不利影響。

問11 : 此常見問題已於2022年1月26日刪除

答:

 

問12 : 申請人目前獲發牌進行第1類受規管活動。申請人在四年前未領有牌照前,通過證券及投資學會2 管理的資格考試3 卷一。假如申請人申請同時進行第2類受規管活動,是否需要重考卷一?

答:

申請進行另一類受規管活動時,申請人理應通過適用於該新一類受規管活動的本地監管架構考

一般來說,申請人應在提交申請前的三年內通過本地監管架構考試(請參閱《勝任能力的指引》第4.1.5段)。然而,如果申請人現時或過去三年內曾為持牌人,證監會或會認可該人在三年之前通過的本地監管架構考試(請參閱《勝任能力的指引》第4.1.6段)。就上述例子而言,申請人將無須重考證券及投資學會資格考試卷一,即使該人是在逾三年前通過上述的考試。

假如申請人從未通過適用於新一類受規管活動的本地監管架構考試(例如申請人藉過渡安排過渡至《證券及期貨條例》的制度,因此從未報考證券及投資學會資格考試卷一),申請人將不獲授予本地監管架構考試的全面豁免,但可在符合有關申請資格的情況下,獲授予有條件豁免(例如《勝任能力的指引》第4.4.3.7段本地監管架構考試的第 6 類有條件豁免)。 

問13 :
此常見問題已於2022年1月26日刪除 

答:
 

問14 : 申請人曾根據《勝任能力的指引》(20033月版本)選擇3獲發牌,直至2020630日止,其後離開業界。申請人現決定重投業界並申請新的牌照。該申請人是否需符合《勝任能力的指引》載列的學歷要求?

答:

如果申請人符合《勝任能力的指引》20033月版本)選擇3,並曾於202211日前獲發牌,則可按《勝任能力的指引》4.2.1.3段(負責人員或第4.3.1.3段(持牌代表獲豁免安前提是該申請人符合該段載列的其他勝任能力規定,例如擁有近期和相關的行業經驗,以及符合適用的認可行業資格及本地監管架構考試的規定。

上述豁免安排亦適用於該等申請人增加受規管活動或核准成為負責人員等情況

問15 : 根據《勝任能力的指引》第4.1.10段,證監會可全面考慮申請人在業界的整體工作資歷。若然如此,申請人是否無須按4.2.1.2段(負責人員)或 4.3.1.2段(持牌代表)於指明期間內累積相關行業經驗?

答:

“近期” 的行業經驗是證明申請人掌握最新市場發展形勢和熟悉監管環境的關鍵元素。雖然證監會可根據《勝任能力的指引》第4.1.10段及第4.1.11段,全面考慮申請在業界的整體工作資歷,此做法主要針對那些未能“近期”累積行業經驗的申請人,證監會可按個別情況考慮接納該申請人之早期經驗為相關行業經驗

舉例來說,如果負責人員申請人將會出任整體管理監督職能的核心職能主管,並且未能完全在指明期間內累積足夠的相關行業經驗,我們將會全面考慮申請人的早期經驗與其擬擔任的職務之間有何相關之處,以及其他方面例如申請人擬隸屬的主事人是否擁有充足的基礎設施和人力資源。若證監會接納該等早期經驗為相關經驗,則該負責人員申請人或可獲發牌照,但其牌照或受發牌條件所約束。

問16 : 就負責人員的申請而言,證監會會接納哪一類的 管理經驗” 為相關經驗

答:

證監會接納在業務環境中指揮及管理重要的受規管職能或項目的實際經驗為 “管理經驗”,包括管理從事這些職能或項目的員工

相關例子包括:

  1. 作為持牌法團、註冊機構或金融業內機構的高級管理人員(例如行政總裁、業務主管或營運總裁)監督受規管活動或金融服務的經驗;
  2. 監督投資團隊執行投資職能(不論受規管與否)的經驗;或
  3. 透過管理另一類受規管活動而取得的經驗

以上例子並非鉅細無遺。

1《勝任能力的指引》指《勝任能力的指引》(2022年1月版本)。

2“證券及投資學會” 指香港證券及投資學會。

3“資格考試” 指證券及期貨從業員資格考試。

最後更新日期: 2022年1月26日

我們使用cookies來改善網站性能和用戶體驗。如果你繼續使用本網站及相關服務,則表示你同意其使用。詳細了解我們的隱私政策聲明
免责声明 Disclaimer statement

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(简称证监会)于本网站免费提供一套繁简字体转换软件(该软件)。证监会允许本网站的使用者利用该软件将本网站内容由繁体中文版转换成为简体中文版。证监会不会就该软件欠妥之处承担任何法律责任,亦不会就其品质及性能作出任何担保;尤其是在无损前述的一般性的原则下,证监会无需就该软件对某用途的恰当性、其品质或可商售性承担任何该等明示或隐含的、法定或非法定的法律责任。

证监会明确陈述,本会并无核准或认可本网站内容的简体中文版,以及对于本网站内容的简体中文版不承担任何责任或法律责任(不论是何种及如何引致的责任或法律责任)。证监会同时明确陈述,本网站的简体中文版纯粹是利用该软件将繁体中文版内的中文字体转换成简体中文字而得来的,当中并不涉及香港特区与内地的用词及语句的对应转换。对于该简体中文版的内容的恰当性,证监会不承担任何责任或法律责任。在任何情况下,使用者都不应视本网站内容的简体中文版为其繁体中文版的对应版本。使用者应该参照该简体中文版的已发布繁体中文版来核实该简体中文版的网站内容,并且应该在依赖本网站内容的简体中文版或根据其内容行事之前,就该版本的内容的法律效力、有效性和效果自费征询独立的法律意见。

如果你将证监会网站的简体中文版的内容或网址传送予第三者,你承诺会将本免责声明同时传送予该第三者,并保证该第三者在浏览本网站的简体中文版的内容之前同意接纳本免责声明。

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) provides a character-based conversion software (this Software) free of charge in this website. Permission is granted for users to use this Software to convert the web content from traditional Chinese character version to simplified Chinese character version. The SFC undertakes no liability for defects in this Software and gives no warranty in relation to its quality and performance and in particular, but without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, the SFC shall have no such liability regarding the fitness for purpose, quality or merchantability of this Software, whether express or implied, statutory or otherwise.

The SFC expressly states that it has not approved or endorsed the simplified Chinese character version of the web content and the SFC accepts no responsibility or liability (whatsoever and howsoever caused) for such simplified Chinese character version of the web content. The SFC also expressly states that this simplified Chinese character version of the website is solely established by converting the characters in the traditional Chinese character version via this Software, which involves no corresponding conversion between the terms and expressions used in the Hong Kong SAR and Mainland China. The SFC accepts no responsibility or liability for the fitness of the content of the simplified Chinese character version. Under no circumstances should users treat the simplified Chinese character version of the web content as an equivalent of the traditional Chinese character version thereof. Users should verify the simplified Chinese character version of the web content by making reference to the published traditional Chinese character version thereof, and should at their own costs seek independent legal advice on the legal status, validity and effect of the simplified Chinese character version of the web content before relying or acting upon it.

If you transmit the content of this simplified Chinese character version website or its URL to any third party, you agree to forward this Disclaimer Statement at the same time to the third party and guarantee that the third party agrees to accept this Disclaimer Statement before browsing the content of the simplified Chinese character version of this website.