Securities & Futures Commission of Hong Kong

List of jurisdictions with comparable OTCD margin requirements

Pursuant to paragraph 50 of Part III of Schedule 10 to the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission (Code of Conduct), a licensed person which enters into a non-centrally cleared over-the-counter (OTC) derivative transaction that is subject to the margin requirements set out in Part III (SFC requirements) with a counterparty which is subject to the margin requirements of another jurisdiction or regulator (counterparty’s margin requirements) may, in respect of the transaction, elect to adhere to the counterparty’s margin requirements instead of SFC requirements provided that the licensed person has notified the SFC of its intention to adhere to the counterparty’s margin requirements before it begins to do so, and the counterparty’s margin requirements are either (i) deemed to be comparable by the SFC under paragraph 50(b)(i) of Part III; or (ii) determined to be comparable by the SFC or Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) under paragraph 50(b)(ii) of Part III, subject to the licensed person who adheres to the counterparty’s margin requirements complying with the conditions specified by the SFC under paragraph 50(c) of Part III. 

For the purpose of paragraph 50(b)(i) of Part III of Schedule 10 to the Code of Conduct, the margin requirements of the WGMR member jurisdictions and regulators (where applicable) set out below are deemed to be comparable to the margin requirements set out in Part III, subject to the conditions specified by the SFC under paragraph 50(c) of Part III, as set out below. 

WGMR member jurisdictions or regulators in such jurisdictions whose margin requirements are deemed to be comparable

Applicable conditions specified by the SFC

Australia

Conditions (1) & (2) in the List of conditions specified by the SFC below.

Brazil

Canada

The European Union (EU)

HKMA

India

Japan

Republic of Korea

Russia

Singapore

Switzerland

The United Kingdom (as from the time it withdraws from the EU)

The United States of America

  • The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
  • Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
  • Office of the Comptroller of the Currency
  • Commodity Futures Trading Commission

The United States of America

  • Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)

Conditions (1) to (5) in the List of conditions specified by the SFC below.  

 

For the purpose of paragraph 50(b)(ii) of Part III of Schedule 10 to the Code of Conduct, the margin requirements of the jurisdictions and regulators (where applicable) set out below are determined to be comparable to the margin requirements set out in Part III, subject to the conditions specified by the SFC under paragraph 50(c) of Part III, as set out below.

Jurisdictions or regulators in such jurisdictions whose margin requirements are determined to be comparable

Comparability determination issued by

Conditions specified by the SFC

(Nil)

 

 

 

List of conditions specified by the SFC under paragraph 50(c) of Part III of Schedule 10 to the Code of Conduct

General conditions applicable to a licensed person which elects to adhere to the margin requirements of:

(a) any WGMR member jurisdiction or regulators in such jurisdictions whose margin requirements are deemed to be comparable by the SFC; or (b) any jurisdiction or regulator in such jurisdictions whose margin requirements are determined to be comparable by the SFC or HKMA.

(1)  the licensed person is required to obtain approval in writing from the SFC before using an initial margin model, pursuant to Annex B of Part III of Schedule 10 to the Code of Conduct;

(2)  the margin collected by the licensed person should be subject to the asset eligibility requirements and collateral haircuts set out in paragraphs 37 to 45 of Part III of Schedule 10 to the Code of Conduct;

 

Specific conditions applicable to a licensed person which elects to adhere to the margin requirements of the SEC

(3)  if the licensed person elects not to collect initial margin from a counterparty pursuant to an exception in the SEC’s regime, the licensed person should deduct the full amount of the initial margin not collected from the counterparty from its liquid capital in calculating its liquid capital;

(4)  if the licensed person collects initial margin, any re-hypothecation, reuse or re-pledge of the initial margin can only be undertaken under the conditions set out in paragraph 26 of Part III of Schedule 10 to the Code of Conduct. This condition applies up to the amount of initial margin required to be collected under the SEC’s regime, including where the licensed person elects to collect initial margin instead of relying on an exception to the collecting obligation in the SEC’s regime;

(5)  if the licensed person posts initial margin to a counterparty, the licensed person should ensure that it is properly segregated and protected against the risk of insolvency of the counterparty collecting initial margin in accordance with paragraph 24 of Part III of Schedule 10 to the Code of Conduct.

3.6668 s

證監會

具有可資比較的場外衍生工具保證金規定的司法管轄區名單

依據《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》(《操守準則》)附表10III部第50段,若持牌人與須遵守另一司法管轄區或監管機構的保證金規定(對手方保證金規定)的對手方訂立須符合第III部所載的保證金規定(證監會規定)的非中央結算場外衍生工具交易,可選擇就該項交易遵循對手方保證金規定,以替代證監會規定,但條件是持牌人已在開始遵循對手方保證金規定前通知證監會,表示其有意如此行事,以及對手方的保證金規定屬以下兩種情況之一:(i)根據第III部第50(b)(i)段獲證監會視為可資比較;或(ii)根據第III部第50(b)(ii)段獲證監會或香港金融管理局(金管局)判斷為可資比較,前提是遵循對手方保證金規定的持牌人須符合證監會根據第III部第50(c)段所指明的條件。

就《操守準則》附表10III部第50(b)(i)段的目的而言,在符合證監會根據第III部第50(c)段所指明的條件(載於下文)的情況下,以下所載的保證金規定工作小組成員司法管轄區及監管機構(如適用)的保證金規定被視為與第III部所載的保證金規定可資比較。

保證金規定視為可比較的保證金規定工作小組成員司法管轄區位於該等司法管轄區的監管機構

證監會所指明的適用條件

澳大利亞

下文證監會所指明的條件清單內的條件(1)(2)

巴西

加拿大

歐洲聯盟(歐盟)

金管局

印度

日本

大韓民國

俄羅斯

新加坡

瑞士

英國(在退出歐盟後)

美國

  • The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
  • Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
  • Office of the Comptroller of the Currency
  • Commodity Futures Trading Commission
     

美國

  • Securities and Exchange CommissionSEC

下文證監會所指明的條件清單內的條件(1)(5)


就《操守準則》附表10III部第50(b)(ii)段的目的而言,在符合證監會根據第III部第50(c)段所指明的條件(如下文所載)的情況下,以下所載的司法管轄區及監管機構(如適用)的保證金規定被判斷為與第III部所載的保證金規定可資比較。 

其保證金規定被判斷為可資比較的司法管轄區位於該等司法管轄區的監管機構

由以下機構發出可資比較判

證監會所指明的條件

(無)

 

 

 

證監會根據《操守準則》附10III部第50(c)段所指明的條件清單

選擇遵循以下保證金規定的持牌人所適用的一般條件:

(a)其保證金規定獲證監會視為可資比較的任何保證金規定工作小組成員司法管轄區位於該等司法管轄區的監管機構;(b)其保證金規定獲證監會或金管局判斷為可資比較的任何司法管轄區或位於該等司法管轄區的監管機構

(1)    依據《操守準則》附表10III部附件B,持牌人在使用開倉保證金模式前,須先取得證監會的書面批准;

(2)    持牌人收取的保證金應符合《操守準則》附表10III部第3745段所載的資產資格規定及抵押品扣減;

 

選擇遵SEC保證金規定的持牌所適用的特定條件

(3)    若持牌人選擇依據SEC制度中的某個例外情況,不向對手方收取開倉保證金,便應在計算其速動資金時從其速動資金中全數扣除沒有向該對手方收取的開倉保證金;

(4)    若持牌人收取開倉保證金,在再抵押、再使用或再質押開倉保證金時,只能夠在符合《操守準則》附表10III部第26段所載的條件下進行。這項條件在不超過根據SEC制度須收取的開倉保證金數額的情況下適用,包括當持牌人選擇收取開倉保證金,而不依賴SEC制度內收取保證金責任的例外情況時;

(5)    若持牌人向對手方提供開倉保證金,便應根據《操守準則》附表10III部第24段確保有關開倉保證金獲得適當地分隔,及不會因為收取開倉保證金的對手方無力償債而須承受風險。


 

免责声明 Disclaimer statement

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(简称证监会)于本网站免费提供一套繁简字体转换软件(该软件)。证监会允许本网站的使用者利用该软件将本网站内容由繁体中文版转换成为简体中文版。证监会不会就该软件欠妥之处承担任何法律责任,亦不会就其品质及性能作出任何担保;尤其是在无损前述的一般性的原则下,证监会无需就该软件对某用途的恰当性、其品质或可商售性承担任何该等明示或隐含的、法定或非法定的法律责任。

证监会明确陈述,本会并无核准或认可本网站内容的简体中文版,以及对于本网站内容的简体中文版不承担任何责任或法律责任(不论是何种及如何引致的责任或法律责任)。证监会同时明确陈述,本网站的简体中文版纯粹是利用该软件将繁体中文版内的中文字体转换成简体中文字而得来的,当中并不涉及香港特区与内地的用词及语句的对应转换。对于该简体中文版的内容的恰当性,证监会不承担任何责任或法律责任。在任何情况下,使用者都不应视本网站内容的简体中文版为其繁体中文版的对应版本。使用者应该参照该简体中文版的已发布繁体中文版来核实该简体中文版的网站内容,并且应该在依赖本网站内容的简体中文版或根据其内容行事之前,就该版本的内容的法律效力、有效性和效果自费征询独立的法律意见。

如果你将证监会网站的简体中文版的内容或网址传送予第三者,你承诺会将本免责声明同时传送予该第三者,并保证该第三者在浏览本网站的简体中文版的内容之前同意接纳本免责声明。

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) provides a character-based conversion software (this Software) free of charge in this website. Permission is granted for users to use this Software to convert the web content from traditional Chinese character version to simplified Chinese character version. The SFC undertakes no liability for defects in this Software and gives no warranty in relation to its quality and performance and in particular, but without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, the SFC shall have no such liability regarding the fitness for purpose, quality or merchantability of this Software, whether express or implied, statutory or otherwise.

The SFC expressly states that it has not approved or endorsed the simplified Chinese character version of the web content and the SFC accepts no responsibility or liability (whatsoever and howsoever caused) for such simplified Chinese character version of the web content. The SFC also expressly states that this simplified Chinese character version of the website is solely established by converting the characters in the traditional Chinese character version via this Software, which involves no corresponding conversion between the terms and expressions used in the Hong Kong SAR and Mainland China. The SFC accepts no responsibility or liability for the fitness of the content of the simplified Chinese character version. Under no circumstances should users treat the simplified Chinese character version of the web content as an equivalent of the traditional Chinese character version thereof. Users should verify the simplified Chinese character version of the web content by making reference to the published traditional Chinese character version thereof, and should at their own costs seek independent legal advice on the legal status, validity and effect of the simplified Chinese character version of the web content before relying or acting upon it.

If you transmit the content of this simplified Chinese character version website or its URL to any third party, you agree to forward this Disclaimer Statement at the same time to the third party and guarantee that the third party agrees to accept this Disclaimer Statement before browsing the content of the simplified Chinese character version of this website.

3.6059 s